ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Breaker size?? #8420 03/20/02 10:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 201
A
ayrton Offline OP
Member
I need to size my breaker in the MDP for an HVAC installation. There will be four ten ton split system units. Two on one floor and two on the floor above. the condensors will be roof top. 208/120 3phase is the system.
Now this is to be on the third and fourth floor. I am planning to run conduit up from the substation in the basement to a sub panel on the third floor to feed the new units. How do I calculate for my breaker size to the subpanel?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Breaker size?? #8421 03/20/02 10:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
Largest unit @ 125% + the remainder of the units @ 100%,just like a bank of motors. If the evap coils are on this panel also, don't forget 'em.
(OOPS, that was for the conductor size!!) [Linked Image]



[This message has been edited by electure (edited 03-20-2002).]

Re: Breaker size?? #8422 03/20/02 11:50 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
I'm thinking for Inverse Time CBs, per Art. 430.62 and table 430-52--
250% largest FLA, plus sum of all other FLAs.

I don't imagine a compressor of that size is hermetic, but in that case, 440-22 would apply.

If I'm wrong, I think it's a step in the right direction.

Re: Breaker size?? #8423 03/27/02 07:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 29
D
Dan Neeser Offline
Member
I believe Redsy is correct. Size the feeder circuit breaker at not more than:

- Largest motor FLA (per Table 430.52) X 250% (or the next standard size up)

plus,

- The full-load current of all other motors.

An additional consideration that I would recommend is to add a fusible disconnect at the HVAC unit. This provides a local disconnect for the unit to facilitate maintenance requirements and also may be needed if the unit requires protection from fuses...applying products according to their listing and labeling - NEC 110.3(B).

Some HVAC units indicate max overcurrent device, which can be protected by a fuse or circuit breaker. In this case a non-fused disconnect would work as the local disconnect(provided the fault current is not above 10kA, since most non-fused disconnects are not rated above that).

However, many indicate max fuse size. If this is indicated, fuse protection in accordance with the label must be provided. Many engineers I talk with always specify a fused disconnect at the HVAC for this reason.

Re: Breaker size?? #8424 03/27/02 07:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 201
A
ayrton Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the help guys. After I wrote the question I went looking in Articles 430 and got confused. There is so much information and sometimes I read to much into the text.
You have LRA, and FLA. Which do you go by?
Figuring one unit is easy, you just look at the name plate and the max fuse is normally a given. I am terrible at calculations and am always second guessing myself. Last thing I want to do is bid a job, do it and than down the road come to find out my calc was wrong!
Thanks again for the advise! Turns out I will need a 400a subpanel to handle these loads and some small 120v control.

Re: Breaker size?? #8425 03/31/02 01:07 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
G
golf junkie Offline
Member
message deleted

[This message has been edited by golf junkie (edited 03-31-2002).]

Re: Breaker size?? #8426 03/31/02 06:35 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 33
J
JohnnyB Offline
Member
Another thing, there are HVAC rated breakers as opposed to regular ones and of course time delay fuses. As a HVAC tech I strongly suggest a dissconnect at each of the units, I would think it to be required.

As for LRA and FLA, one is Locked Rotor Amps and the other is Full Load Amps, I would think LRA to be used in calc since the compressors will draw it for a second or two, right?

Re: Breaker size?? #8427 03/31/02 11:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 135
W
wolfdog Offline
Member
Hello JohnnyB, Didn't expect to run into you here.

Re: Breaker size?? #8428 04/01/02 08:20 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
JohnnyB,
It's early, and I'm goin' out on a limb but,
I believe FLA is normally used to size feeders & feeder OCPDs.
I believe LRA is used to size discos for hermetic units by using Table 430-151(B) to back-calculate for a HP rating based on LRA.
Anyone else?

Re: Breaker size?? #8429 04/01/02 09:40 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 31
S
smurf Offline
Member
Right on, Redsy. Won't anyone cut your limb for that.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,957 Are you busy
204,381 Re: Forum
192,599 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3