ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Wire Strands #8334 03/19/02 04:53 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 19
D
DLinton Offline OP
Member
I thought that in the NEC it stated some where on cutting strands from a wire to get them to fit in a lug. Could someone help clarify this up.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Wire Strands #8335 03/19/02 05:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
Lugs & connectors are listed for use with a defined range of wire sizes.
If you have to cut strands to make it fit, you are using the wrong size lug, violating Article 110.3 & 110.14

Re: Wire Strands #8336 03/19/02 05:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 280
M
motor-T Offline
Member
DLinton:
I have never seen such a reference.
Although in my area at one time we were allowed to separate the the grounding electrode conductor into two parts and use two separate terminals, for example if it was a duplex with two 100 amp panels and a 200 amp service the No.4 wouldnt fit into the smaller lugs of the 100 amp panels. This was suggested to me by the city inspector, however, we have county inspectors for the rural area, and when I tried that out in the county he called to say, that he gigged the job, because I had separated the conductor as I did and said to me, You know Mark they make 'Listed Lugs' for that get a couple, this was about 6 years ago now.
As I said I have never seen a reference for that.
-Mark

Re: Wire Strands #8337 03/19/02 05:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
I'll join Redsy with 110-3(b). The wire or cable is marked as being a certain wire gauge.

What size does it become when you start removing strands? For example 0001/2? (thats three & 1/2 aught). Since that wire size does not exist in the tables and the wires listing does not include trimming strands, then 110-(3)(b) covers this violation.

Not only that, the inspector could also fall back on 110-2 & see the definition of approved.

Tom

[This message has been edited by Tom (edited 03-19-2002).]


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: Wire Strands #8338 03/19/02 06:16 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 19
D
DLinton Offline OP
Member
Now I am not second guesing you guys. I have been reading a lot from these forum pages and love it.---- So you can not use a #6 THHN with a 20 amp breaker due to the voltage drop because the lug is rated #14-#10? Just a question. Not to be assumed as a smarta__.

[This message has been edited by DLinton (edited 03-19-2002).]

Re: Wire Strands #8339 03/19/02 07:48 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 375
G
George Offline
Member
DLinton ---

You splice a piece of #12 to the #6 and fasten that to the 20amp breaker.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 2
Popular Topics(Views)
270,999 Are you busy
205,003 Re: Forum
193,121 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3