ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 42 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#81734 09/15/02 08:22 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 131
T
Member
Why are non restriceive twin breakers made if you can't use them to over fill a panel box. The only panels that can exept twins have the notch in them. What the dilio???

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#81735 09/15/02 11:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
C
Member
Older load centers did not have notched stabs but many were approved for use with twin breakers in the positions shown on the wiring diagram. The problem was people were installing these breakers in any position and in panels that were not approved for twin breakers so they had to come up with a CTL design. They still make the breakers for use in older panels without the notches but usually cost quite a bit more.

Curt


Curt Swartz
#81736 09/15/02 01:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
Member
That is one of my pet peeves. When I go on an inspection and I see twin breakers, I have to look at the wiring diagram and/or the panel model number. Some panels like the ITE (Siemans) 20-20 panel means that it can handle 20 full size breakers only. No twins. Then the contractor usually argues with me that panels can haold up to 42 circuits. Well that is true, however the manufacture of a certain panel only wants a certain number of breakers in that panel. I wish that the manufactures all had seperate configurations for their own equipment and not let everyone elses in there. It might be so much easier.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5