ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 255 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#80972 06/14/02 12:06 AM
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
from the 'emailbag'
Dear Sir: I am an electrical contractor in Va. working for a company that designs and manufactures booths for museums, exhibits and shows. There appears to be a conflict -- are they exempt from following the NEC and are they exempt from UL testing when lighting fixtures (fluorescent) are dismantled and only the tombstones are used mounted to a manufactured frame and the ballast is remotely installed?? Where is the protection for the fixture wires?? If they modify the fixture do they not void the UL warranty/rating and should then be made to aquire an independent testing agency to test and approve and give a '"label" similar to the UL "label"??

I would really appreciate a response --

Thanks, js

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

#80973 06/14/02 01:04 AM
B
js—I agree with your description of the situation. You don’t always want to bite the hand that feeds, but don’t want your firm to be needlessly exposed to unreasonable liabilities.