ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 05/18/24 06:12 PM
Electricians revenge
by gfretwell - 05/09/24 08:24 PM
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 32 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#80186 03/14/02 02:09 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 22
A
AndrusT Offline OP
Member
Whats the rule, on when you need to have 2 ground rods?
I have heard 2 reasons.
1. When the service is over 200 amps.
2. When your water pipe has a plastic main.

I have also heard the reason for this is cause you need 10 feet of ground (rod, or copper main) going into the earth. I can't seem to find this stuff myself. Thanks

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#80187 03/14/02 05:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
Unless you've got the $$$ for the tester & time to waste, you'll need 2 rods at all times.

See 250-56 1999 NEC


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
#80188 03/14/02 05:54 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
2002 NEC 250.56

A little more explanation:

Unless you have the equipment and time to prove that your one grounding electrode has a resistance of 25 Ohms or less (and the Power Company doesn't mind only one) then the NEC requires no less than two.

Ground Meggers are expensive...

Also, 250.52(A)(5) requires 8 ft to be in contact with the earth. 10 ft. could be your local PoCo requirement.

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 03-14-2002).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#80189 03/14/02 08:34 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 280
M
Member
AndrusT:
As it was explained to me by our inspector, he said, " Show me 25 ohms to ground, or drive two ground rods, its that simple."
-Mark-

#80190 03/14/02 11:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 218
S
Member
Motor t, my inspector is even easier than that. He just says two ground rods no matter what.

#80191 03/22/02 06:48 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
J
Member
Our local PoCo went behind their own office and drove 10 8' ground rods and never got 25 ohms. So they let us get by with two now. I worked on a 1200 amp 480v with 5 rods 10' apart cadwelded to 4/0 copper in addition to a clamp on a 4" galvanize water line thirty feet in direct contact with the earth and never got 25 ohms. But the key here was undisturbed earth, seems any fill really messes thing up.


Lighting the way
#80192 03/24/02 09:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 53
N
Member
Illinois.
One rod as supplemental to primary ground as in city supplied water, attachment per code distances, service size to AWG sizing.
Got a well, TWO rods 6' apart all continous wire. Still it gets attached to the first copper accessible to tank as the backup water in the hole deal, got water it gets to the earth.
Wisconsin... TWO rods, due to soil.

#80193 04/02/02 07:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2
E
Junior Member
read 250-81 carefully. you don't need any grd rods if you meet the first several conditions

#80194 04/02/02 09:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,294
Member
All you really have to do is have less than 25 ohms to ground on your grounding electrode connection...if it takes 1 rod, or 100.
(rods are kind of a junky ground path. If you're in trouble, you can pour a concrete encased electrode aka:Ufer, by just putting 20' of GEC sized Cu wire in a trench filled with concrete. Unless you have some kind of "resistance dirt", it'll pass)


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5