ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/15/18 11:32 AM
Tingle off the water spigot
by Trumpy. 09/15/18 03:24 AM
Lighting Load questions
by HotLine1. 09/14/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
# of Ground rods #80186
03/14/02 02:09 PM
03/14/02 02:09 PM
A
AndrusT  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 22
Whats the rule, on when you need to have 2 ground rods?
I have heard 2 reasons.
1. When the service is over 200 amps.
2. When your water pipe has a plastic main.

I have also heard the reason for this is cause you need 10 feet of ground (rod, or copper main) going into the earth. I can't seem to find this stuff myself. Thanks

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: # of Ground rods #80187
03/14/02 05:06 PM
03/14/02 05:06 PM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
Unless you've got the $$$ for the tester & time to waste, you'll need 2 rods at all times.

See 250-56 1999 NEC


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: # of Ground rods #80188
03/14/02 05:54 PM
03/14/02 05:54 PM
sparky66wv  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
2002 NEC 250.56

A little more explanation:

Unless you have the equipment and time to prove that your one grounding electrode has a resistance of 25 Ohms or less (and the Power Company doesn't mind only one) then the NEC requires no less than two.

Ground Meggers are expensive...

Also, 250.52(A)(5) requires 8 ft to be in contact with the earth. 10 ft. could be your local PoCo requirement.

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 03-14-2002).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: # of Ground rods #80189
03/14/02 08:34 PM
03/14/02 08:34 PM
M
motor-T  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 280
Girard, Ohio, USA
AndrusT:
As it was explained to me by our inspector, he said, " Show me 25 ohms to ground, or drive two ground rods, its that simple."
-Mark-

Re: # of Ground rods #80190
03/14/02 11:09 PM
03/14/02 11:09 PM
S
spkjpr  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 218
Sedalia,MO, USA
Motor t, my inspector is even easier than that. He just says two ground rods no matter what.

Re: # of Ground rods #80191
03/22/02 06:48 AM
03/22/02 06:48 AM
J
joeh20  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
Tullahoma, TN, 37388
Our local PoCo went behind their own office and drove 10 8' ground rods and never got 25 ohms. So they let us get by with two now. I worked on a 1200 amp 480v with 5 rods 10' apart cadwelded to 4/0 copper in addition to a clamp on a 4" galvanize water line thirty feet in direct contact with the earth and never got 25 ohms. But the key here was undisturbed earth, seems any fill really messes thing up.


Lighting the way
Re: # of Ground rods #80192
03/24/02 09:57 PM
03/24/02 09:57 PM
N
NonLinearLoad  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 53
McHenry, IL. USA
Illinois.
One rod as supplemental to primary ground as in city supplied water, attachment per code distances, service size to AWG sizing.
Got a well, TWO rods 6' apart all continous wire. Still it gets attached to the first copper accessible to tank as the backup water in the hole deal, got water it gets to the earth.
Wisconsin... TWO rods, due to soil.

Re: # of Ground rods #80193
04/02/02 07:56 PM
04/02/02 07:56 PM
E
electricdiver  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2
howell,nj,usa
read 250-81 carefully. you don't need any grd rods if you meet the first several conditions

Re: # of Ground rods #80194
04/02/02 09:25 PM
04/02/02 09:25 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,274
Fullerton, CA USA
All you really have to do is have less than 25 ohms to ground on your grounding electrode connection...if it takes 1 rod, or 100.
(rods are kind of a junky ground path. If you're in trouble, you can pour a concrete encased electrode aka:Ufer, by just putting 20' of GEC sized Cu wire in a trench filled with concrete. Unless you have some kind of "resistance dirt", it'll pass)


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
249,284 Are you busy
187,221 Re: Forum
176,579 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 1.0014 MB (Peak: 1.1697 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-19 15:34:32 UTC