ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 11/17/18 11:19 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 38 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
16 Gauge Wire ? #80168
03/11/02 09:37 PM
03/11/02 09:37 PM
W
WireWrestler  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 45
Northern IL
I went to a service call lately to a medical office to add some isolated ground circuits for computers. I was shocked to find that the majority of the wiring, more than thirty 110V circuits, was done in 16ga MTW/THHN in EMT on 15 amp breakers. The service is 200 amp single phase and there are no problems with the installation of the service equipment or the load center. The building is less than 10 years old. It is in an area where there are no inspections or licensing required. I was taught to never use less than 12ga wire in commercial buildings and that is what I have always done but I can't find the code to back it up. I want some really solid ground to approach the owners with to convince them to do something about it. Can anyone help me with code references? Thanks!

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 16 Gauge Wire ? #80169
03/11/02 10:05 PM
03/11/02 10:05 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
WW,

Although 12 ga minimum is a good policy to go by I don't know of any rules requiring that. There is one though that specifies 14 ga minimum see 310.5

Bill

Re: 16 Gauge Wire ? #80170
03/11/02 10:56 PM
03/11/02 10:56 PM
W
WireWrestler  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 45
Northern IL
Bill, I saw that and my interpetation was that anything smaller than 14ga could only be used in fixtures and control panels but not for fixed wiring in a building. The ampacity of the 16ga THHN is 18 amps, so I guess it is not overloaded, but it still seems very strange to me. The 12ga minimum size for commercial buildings may have been a local code in places I have worked over the years and it just stuck with me. Thanks for the reply.

Re: 16 Gauge Wire ? #80171
03/11/02 11:31 PM
03/11/02 11:31 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
Quote
my interpetation was that anything smaller than 14ga could only be used in fixtures and control panels but not for fixed wiring in a building.


Your statement is correct. 16 ga should not be used for the wiring in this building. In Table 310.16 that 18a you see is under the 90C column and that could only be used if wiring was connected to terminals with a rating of 90C. Breakers are either 60C or 75C (some older ones even 40C) If you notice, there is no ampacity under the 60C and 75C columns for 16ga wire.

Bill

[This message has been edited by Bill Addiss (edited 03-11-2002).]

Re: 16 Gauge Wire ? #80172
03/13/02 09:17 PM
03/13/02 09:17 PM
R
Ron  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 582
White Plains, NY
240.4(D) limits 15 ampere max. overcurrent protection for #14 awg.


Ron

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,560 Are you busy
188,717 Re: Forum
178,434 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.054s Queries: 14 (0.028s) Memory: 0.9688 MB (Peak: 1.1062 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-18 10:09:02 UTC