ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/22/20 12:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Must Replace Wiring? #79775 01/25/02 07:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline OP
Member
Has anyone heard of situations where wiring must be replaced when it is exposed during a Renovation?

Bill


Bill
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79776 01/25/02 07:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
In as 'required', and not simply desired?

Not up here
[Linked Image]

Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79777 01/25/02 08:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
That's one of the things that's been so tough here because of the Municipal Codes or Inspectors.
You never know what they'll ask for, or if it's actually part of their local Code.
Some will just point and say "Fix that".
Yes, I've seen that, and never challenged it. I asked them to write it up so that I could have some teeth to my proposal to the GC or owner for the Extra to repair/update it.

Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79778 01/25/02 08:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline OP
Member
I've heard that it is in our State adopted building code that when substandard wiring is exposed as part of a renovation it must be replaced.

Example; renovating a house without replacing Aluminum wiring would be a violation. I wonder if that would also apply to 60C and 75C wiring?

Bill


Bill
Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79779 01/25/02 08:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
Isn't type TW 60° wire still allowed?
(or old style type NM)?
Yeah, right electure you old *&^%, like you could buy some of it without a special order.

Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79780 01/25/02 09:18 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline OP
Member
electure,

The person I heard it from mentioned the word sub-standard. I was thinking of the old NM cables, Bx and such with less than 90C temp rating, because they would be less than todays' standard.

The subject came up referring to someone that renovated an entire house but did not replace the Aluminum wiring (which was totally exposed)

Bill

[This message has been edited by Bill Addiss (edited 01-25-2002).]


Bill
Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79781 01/26/02 12:25 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
G
George Corron Offline
Member
Bill,
I can't imagine what kind of "intelligent" individual would expose aluminum wiring and not replace it. Is this a fire repair company?
In VA if sub-standard is exposed, it will be replaced and the area brought up to current code. Usually that involves GFCI's etc, but that al statement really floors me.

Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79782 01/26/02 08:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
From my experience if the walls are open you must at least add receptacles to bring to code. If the house was any more than about fifteen years old I would insist that we rip out old wiring and start fresh.

Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79783 01/26/02 10:04 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline OP
Member
George,

I don't know any details on that job. I was hoping that the person I heard it from would join us and add more details. I would also like to see the actual reference in the code.

I have always been under the impression that replacement was up to the individual. To hear that it is mandated somewhere is a bit of a surprise to me.

Emscott,

I think that is a good rule to go by, but is it enforceable? My observations are that existing wiring (if it met code at the time of installation) has been allowed to remain if untouched during a renovation. I've been through many Kitchen remodels fighting to install required outlets, but the "I'm not going to use it" attitude and the fact that they have to pay for the special countertop and multipurpose wonder cabinets has won more times than it should've.

Bill


Bill
Re: Must Replace Wiring? #79784 01/26/02 12:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Joe Tedesco Offline
Member
Bill:

Look here at a new 2002 NEC item in Article 80, although not mandatory, it does give valuable information.

I would recommend that a proposal be drafted to cover this in the full body of the code in Article 110:

"80.9 Application.

(A) New Installations. This Code applies to new installations. Buildings with construction permits dated after adoption of this Code shall comply with its requirements.

(B) Existing Installations. Existing electrical installations that do not comply with the provisions of this Code shall be permitted to be continued in use unless the authority having jurisdiction determines that the lack of conformity with this Code presents an imminent danger to occupants. Where changes are required for correction of hazards, a reasonable amount of time shall be given for compliance, depending on the degree of the hazard."

Frank: You agree? Any other AHJ's here? Come aboard, the posts are going to get hotter and hotter during the next few months because we only have until November to send in proposals for the 2005 NEC, and there is a deadline just look at the rear pages in the new 2002 NEC.


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,742 Are you busy
204,967 Re: Forum
193,085 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3