ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 216 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#79635 01/09/02 03:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 201
A
ayrton Offline OP
Member
I have a CT cabinet feedin two MDpanels.
One is hvac and one is general. The cabinet has two demand meters on it reading the two panels w/two sets of CT's.
Off of the MDP,s we have numerous submeters.
I want to take two of the meter off the MDP's and tap into the line conductors(power co's)
before the CT's in the cabinet so that I can install two more meters. I looked in the tap section and do not see where I cant do this.
But before I pull a permit I want to be 100% sure this is legal. Now I have seen this dozens of times, but that does not mean it is legal.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#79636 01/09/02 11:34 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Our PoCo up here in PA shuns that type of installation. They would rather see the meters come off the MDP like you have mentioned they are setup already. As for the legality, I dont really know.

#79637 01/10/02 08:32 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,294
Member
It sounds like what you are doing is actually creating 2 new services.
Contact the utility and see what their take is on it.
If all's well, you can have up to 6 services from one set of service entrance conductors, provided they all serve separate occupants.

#79638 01/10/02 09:36 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 201
A
ayrton Offline OP
Member
Yes electure that is what I am doing. I am just removing two loads off of the service, and putting them back on,but in a different way obviously. I looked in services and tap section and find no illegality. And I am not exceeding the six disconnect rule. This would make a total of four. And as far as the PoCo. is concerned I have sent in my app. for meters. I AM IN Pa. and I see this all the time.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5