ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
Lock-down Thread
by Trumpy - 09/11/20 11:17 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79555 01/06/02 12:07 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline OP
Member
OK... Got caught up in a job for a Veterinary Office/Kennel. I've been a good sparky and have went with PVC FS boxes and WP covers to protect from washdowns.

Time comes for the service, and it really could get away with 100A (gas heated building) but I figured for 200 for upgradability...

Using the only available conductors from my supplier for a 200A service, I ran 2" PVC from the disco to the panel, and installed the 4/0 Tri rated "new stuff" that's really easy to work with.

Several things suddenly came to a really bad light...

The neutral is 2/0...

Table 310.15(b)(6) is for dwellings only!

My 2" pipe is too small for 3 250KCm conductors and a #2 Ground...

GE brand 150 Ampere Mains are rare as hens teeth.

I asked my AHJ what to do and he said:

"You mean to tell me that 4/0 is big enough for 200A in a home, but not in a business?"

I was dumbfounded...

He suggested that I was "reading too deep into the code."

Hunh?


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79556 01/06/02 12:49 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Fred Offline
Member
You can't use 3/0 or 4/0 cu? I would think either of those would be available at your supply house. Were you originally running 4/0 Al URD and a #2 through the PVC? Our supply house has been stocking 4/0 Al URD quad(4/0,4/0,4/0 & #2)which can come in handy for residential when using a disco.
I don't know how far your run is but if I lived near by I'd make you a deal on some 4/0 cu. I've got about 21 pcs. 65' long left over from a 330' pull I did last year that I'm still trying to forget.

Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79557 01/06/02 01:06 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline OP
Member
Tri Rated Cable, (RHW-2, XLP, USE-2) with 2 4/0's, a 2/0 Neutral (with requisite white stripe) and a #4 Ground (green) all Aluminum and twisted into a single cable. There are three LB's and a Sweep in this pull, and I'm a solo act, so pulling THHN Cu conductors would be a BIG challenge. (It was hard enough pulling the tri-rated cable...)

I guess the sad point to this is I don't have to change it... The AHJ will pass it as is, and doesn't understand why it shouldn't...

I guess an AHJ around here has to be real lenient...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79558 01/06/02 01:41 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,960
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
Virgil,

FYI, The PoCo around here only uses 1/0 Alum underground to Meterpan for a 200A service.

Bill


Bill
Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79559 01/06/02 06:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
per C-10, 4-THHN 3/0's CU's will fit in 2" sch 40,(so less with reduced noodle & ground) 310-16 @ 75 deg, meets 110-14(c)(10(b) , which i'd only do if called on this, with a gallon of 77 to boot....

Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79560 01/06/02 01:06 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline OP
Member
I'm confused...

So... 310.15(b)(6) can be used for commercial if the PoCo has undersized their conductors? Where does it say that?

I'm so lost...

Cu Thhn is out of the question... Did I mention 3 LB's?
Maybe my technique is bad, but I can't pull 3/0 Cu Thhn through the bend of an LB in sub-freezing weather without some major help... Three strong men and a hammer... (poor conductors)

I guess I'm just lazy...

[Linked Image]

It's all moot, they'll pass it anyway, and I'll be thought a fool by everyone I work with if I change it...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79561 01/06/02 01:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 270
E
Elzappr Offline
Member
That "inspector's" response is simply amazing. How big are the LB's? Mogul sized I hope. Are the covers for the LB's spaced out 4" (required distance per 314.28(a)(2)exc.)

Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79562 01/06/02 01:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
Elzappr;
Have you priced out moguls lately? or asked for a lead time?

Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79563 01/06/02 04:15 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline OP
Member
Moguls? Dunno... I doubt it...

4"? What, from the hole in back to the cover?

I doubt there's 4"...

Boy, I've opened a can of worms...

Heh... I'd like to see some of you guys do business here... You'd get one job (if it's T&M, you'd never get a bid job unless you're willing to bid a price lower than just the materials cost...) and then it would be over... "He's too expensive and too hung up on code" would be your reputation... don't mean to sound bitter, but I've had a long rough year,

What I've learned?

Complete "to the letter" code compliance = starvation

A pretty simple equation really...

[Linked Image]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: 200 Ampere Wire in Commercial Work #79564 01/06/02 08:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 270
E
Elzappr Offline
Member
Exactly! Thats why we have to find a way to clean up our own act. I don't know the answer tho. I got virtually no reaction to my earlier question about legal liabilities for under-compliant installations. I was hoping that SOMEONE would be familiar with the topic and reinforce the notion, that I think is brooding throughout the country, for holding electricians accountable for their "make-do" pragmatic methods. I'm just trying to look ahead, so that what I do today doesn't come around and bite me 15 years from now!
Inspectors look at the closed boxes and make sure there are no openings for the fire to blow out of, but its up to us to not make those loose connections, or to not hammer those conductors into the LB's.

[This message has been edited by Elzappr (edited 01-06-2002).]

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,931 Are you busy
204,358 Re: Forum
192,577 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3