ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Violation?
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:10 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 22 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#78608 10/06/01 09:26 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 196
C
Cindy Offline OP
Member
I was looking at a prospective job yesterday and was told by the owner that he was told he had to replace everything with a 400a service. Conductor sizes were fine. The arrangement was an overhead fed meter, to a gutter below, a 100a breaker panel on the right, a 100a disconnect on the left to a subpanel, and a 200a disconnect on the left to a subpanel. The owner thinks the issue had to do with this being 3 phase and feeding the 200a panel. Is there enough information here to guess what might be wrong that would require replacing this with a 400a service, CT can... the whole enchilada?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#78609 10/06/01 03:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,722
Broom Pusher and
Member
If the subfeeds / subpanels will have increased loads connected to them [like 50% or more of their maximum capacity], plus the loads will be running at the same time ,along with 3 hours or more [LCL], than this new load calculation might very easilly exceed the existing service capacity.

Is the existing service 200 amps?

If this Client plans to draw high loads and expand in the future, the 400 amp service is a valid concern.
Calc the project out, then figure out what is the best way to go.

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
#78610 10/07/01 08:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
No, there is not enough information.
Please clarify...
WHO told the owner to replace everything?
What do you mean "the conductor sizes look fine"?
Being 3 phase has no significance.
What is the existing load demand?

[This message has been edited by Redsy (edited 10-07-2001).]

#78611 10/08/01 10:50 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 176
W
Member
Not enough information. And yes, 3 phase will make a difference for phase load balance, which will be of some concern. We try to keep phases balanced within 10% on the connected load schedules.

#78612 10/08/01 07:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
Warren,
I still don't understand why it being a 3 phase service has any bearing on whether an upgrade is needed. I think the main concern is load calculations. The panel layout may be a matter of convenience.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 9
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,376 Are you busy
231,776 Re: Forum
216,401 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5