ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/18/20 10:03 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78608 10/06/01 10:26 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 196
C
Cindy Offline OP
Member
I was looking at a prospective job yesterday and was told by the owner that he was told he had to replace everything with a 400a service. Conductor sizes were fine. The arrangement was an overhead fed meter, to a gutter below, a 100a breaker panel on the right, a 100a disconnect on the left to a subpanel, and a 200a disconnect on the left to a subpanel. The owner thinks the issue had to do with this being 3 phase and feeding the 200a panel. Is there enough information here to guess what might be wrong that would require replacing this with a 400a service, CT can... the whole enchilada?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78609 10/06/01 04:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,721
Scott35 Offline
Broom Pusher and
Member
If the subfeeds / subpanels will have increased loads connected to them [like 50% or more of their maximum capacity], plus the loads will be running at the same time ,along with 3 hours or more [LCL], than this new load calculation might very easilly exceed the existing service capacity.

Is the existing service 200 amps?

If this Client plans to draw high loads and expand in the future, the 400 amp service is a valid concern.
Calc the project out, then figure out what is the best way to go.

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78610 10/07/01 09:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
No, there is not enough information.
Please clarify...
WHO told the owner to replace everything?
What do you mean "the conductor sizes look fine"?
Being 3 phase has no significance.
What is the existing load demand?

[This message has been edited by Redsy (edited 10-07-2001).]

Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78611 10/08/01 11:50 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 176
W
WARREN1 Offline
Member
Not enough information. And yes, 3 phase will make a difference for phase load balance, which will be of some concern. We try to keep phases balanced within 10% on the connected load schedules.

Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78612 10/08/01 08:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
Warren,
I still don't understand why it being a 3 phase service has any bearing on whether an upgrade is needed. I think the main concern is load calculations. The panel layout may be a matter of convenience.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Admin 1
Popular Topics(Views)
270,686 Are you busy
204,927 Re: Forum
193,041 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3