ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78608
10/06/01 09:26 AM
10/06/01 09:26 AM
C
Cindy  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 196
PDX, OR, US
I was looking at a prospective job yesterday and was told by the owner that he was told he had to replace everything with a 400a service. Conductor sizes were fine. The arrangement was an overhead fed meter, to a gutter below, a 100a breaker panel on the right, a 100a disconnect on the left to a subpanel, and a 200a disconnect on the left to a subpanel. The owner thinks the issue had to do with this being 3 phase and feeding the 200a panel. Is there enough information here to guess what might be wrong that would require replacing this with a 400a service, CT can... the whole enchilada?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78609
10/06/01 03:35 PM
10/06/01 03:35 PM
Scott35  Offline

Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
If the subfeeds / subpanels will have increased loads connected to them [like 50% or more of their maximum capacity], plus the loads will be running at the same time ,along with 3 hours or more [LCL], than this new load calculation might very easilly exceed the existing service capacity.

Is the existing service 200 amps?

If this Client plans to draw high loads and expand in the future, the 400 amp service is a valid concern.
Calc the project out, then figure out what is the best way to go.

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78610
10/07/01 08:54 PM
10/07/01 08:54 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
No, there is not enough information.
Please clarify...
WHO told the owner to replace everything?
What do you mean "the conductor sizes look fine"?
Being 3 phase has no significance.
What is the existing load demand?

[This message has been edited by Redsy (edited 10-07-2001).]

Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78611
10/08/01 10:50 AM
10/08/01 10:50 AM
W
WARREN1  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 176
Greenville, SC, USA
Not enough information. And yes, 3 phase will make a difference for phase load balance, which will be of some concern. We try to keep phases balanced within 10% on the connected load schedules.

Re: 3ph 200a + 100a + 100a #78612
10/08/01 07:56 PM
10/08/01 07:56 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Warren,
I still don't understand why it being a 3 phase service has any bearing on whether an upgrade is needed. I think the main concern is load calculations. The panel layout may be a matter of convenience.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,708
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,430 Are you busy
188,646 Re: Forum
178,347 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 14 (0.007s) Memory: 0.9685 MB (Peak: 1.1061 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-14 11:19:41 UTC