ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/19/18 10:50 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
My Panel runeth over #77666
07/09/01 09:16 PM
07/09/01 09:16 PM
S
sparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,360
I have 34 circuits in a small house, on a 100 a service. Everything seems to need a dedicated circuit, even if it really amounts to a minor load, AFCI's have added to this.

I am going to have to install a 200A MLO 40 Cir.on this 100A service, just for space.

Comments??

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: My Panel runeth over #77667
07/09/01 09:55 PM
07/09/01 09:55 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,902
NY, USA
sparky,

You're in that "Gray Place" again!

You're the best judge of what type of situation you have there. What are all these 'extra' circuits for?

I know some will say that the load determines the service size and nothing is wrong with this, but it sounds like a bit much to me already. (Just my opinion)

It wouldn't surprise me if the va/sq.ft. values used for calculations get raised at some point soon to reflect more modern (realistic) usages.

[Linked Image]
Bill

Re: My Panel runeth over #77668
07/09/01 10:18 PM
07/09/01 10:18 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Why don't you take some readings with as much load energized as practical? If you have sufficient capacity, and the house is that small, you could mount a 2nd panel and just transfer some of the circuits. Some people want a separate circuit for every little load that comes along.

Re: My Panel runeth over #77669
07/10/01 06:27 AM
07/10/01 06:27 AM
S
sparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,360
thanks, some good points here. Yes, i'm in a sort of NEC limbo here...
I have;
3 arc-fault circuits
1--gfi cir for an outbuilding lite & rec
1--gfi cir for bathrm lites
1--gfi cir for jacuzzi
1--circuit for those dumb overhead heat lamps that are really only good for bald spots
1--radiant electric flr heat in bath , which makes more sense
1--furn
2--exterior peak light cir's for possible airport lights (joke)
1-dish
1-pig
1-ref
2-kit
1-wash
2-dry
1-cellar lites
2--range
2-well
3-bath
and a bunch more i cannot recall, the reality is that there are many that do need dedication, but many do not, so i've sort of screwed myself here.
[Linked Image]
mostly, this is due to my wiring methods...this is a small 3 bed cape, despite the 3 baths.

Re: My Panel runeth over #77670
07/10/01 07:52 AM
07/10/01 07:52 AM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Does each bedroom afci need its own ckt?Are there window ACs?
Can gd & frig or dw be combined? Thoughts?
Is one of the baths a powder room? It could share with a full bath.
Whats the wattage of peak lites, the bath lites, and the cellar lites?

Re: My Panel runeth over #77671
07/10/01 08:00 AM
07/10/01 08:00 AM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,902
NY, USA
sparky,

Should I ask where these 34 circuits are now?

Re: My Panel runeth over #77672
07/10/01 05:13 PM
07/10/01 05:13 PM
S
sparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,360
sure,
all in the 200A MLO, fed via 2-3 ser to a 100A meter/ main

All the baths could be on one circuit

All the receptacles outlets could too, for that matter.

Some kitchen appliances could be combined

And i could of used 12-2 instead of 14-2 for lighting,(180W per stop thing...) but i hate getting hung up on box fill.

There are 2 peak lighting circuits , simply for the unknown, 4 AFCI's, 3 GFCI's . I did not have the time to do any concise prints of circuitry as i would normally, i just winged it, all speed, no brain...

Many of these circuits will draw little to nothing, which is not a bad think is it?

[Linked Image]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
Popular Topics(Views)
249,359 Are you busy
187,292 Re: Forum
176,641 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9853 MB (Peak: 1.1343 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-22 03:20:14 UTC