ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Electricians revenge
by gfretwell - 05/23/24 11:15 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 05/18/24 06:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 44 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#77666 07/09/01 09:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
I have 34 circuits in a small house, on a 100 a service. Everything seems to need a dedicated circuit, even if it really amounts to a minor load, AFCI's have added to this.

I am going to have to install a 200A MLO 40 Cir.on this 100A service, just for space.

Comments??

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#77667 07/09/01 09:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
sparky,

You're in that "Gray Place" again!

You're the best judge of what type of situation you have there. What are all these 'extra' circuits for?

I know some will say that the load determines the service size and nothing is wrong with this, but it sounds like a bit much to me already. (Just my opinion)

It wouldn't surprise me if the va/sq.ft. values used for calculations get raised at some point soon to reflect more modern (realistic) usages.

[Linked Image]
Bill


Bill
#77668 07/09/01 10:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
Why don't you take some readings with as much load energized as practical? If you have sufficient capacity, and the house is that small, you could mount a 2nd panel and just transfer some of the circuits. Some people want a separate circuit for every little load that comes along.

#77669 07/10/01 06:27 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
thanks, some good points here. Yes, i'm in a sort of NEC limbo here...
I have;
3 arc-fault circuits
1--gfi cir for an outbuilding lite & rec
1--gfi cir for bathrm lites
1--gfi cir for jacuzzi
1--circuit for those dumb overhead heat lamps that are really only good for bald spots
1--radiant electric flr heat in bath , which makes more sense
1--furn
2--exterior peak light cir's for possible airport lights (joke)
1-dish
1-pig
1-ref
2-kit
1-wash
2-dry
1-cellar lites
2--range
2-well
3-bath
and a bunch more i cannot recall, the reality is that there are many that do need dedication, but many do not, so i've sort of screwed myself here.
[Linked Image]
mostly, this is due to my wiring methods...this is a small 3 bed cape, despite the 3 baths.

#77670 07/10/01 07:52 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
Does each bedroom afci need its own ckt?Are there window ACs?
Can gd & frig or dw be combined? Thoughts?
Is one of the baths a powder room? It could share with a full bath.
Whats the wattage of peak lites, the bath lites, and the cellar lites?

#77671 07/10/01 08:00 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
sparky,

Should I ask where these 34 circuits are now?


Bill
#77672 07/10/01 05:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
sure,
all in the 200A MLO, fed via 2-3 ser to a 100A meter/ main

All the baths could be on one circuit

All the receptacles outlets could too, for that matter.

Some kitchen appliances could be combined

And i could of used 12-2 instead of 14-2 for lighting,(180W per stop thing...) but i hate getting hung up on box fill.

There are 2 peak lighting circuits , simply for the unknown, 4 AFCI's, 3 GFCI's . I did not have the time to do any concise prints of circuitry as i would normally, i just winged it, all speed, no brain...

Many of these circuits will draw little to nothing, which is not a bad think is it?

[Linked Image]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5