ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 15 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#77587 06/27/01 07:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,289
Member
Many inspectors in the area will not allow any conduits or cables to be run from the KO's in extension boxes (although it's regularly seen in older existing work).
Is this a valid call? What section would cover this (if any)?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#77588 06/27/01 05:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
I can understand their caution since brand X extensions may not fit real well to a brand Y box. They may also be concerned about the length of the wire in the regular box not being long enough.

However, there is nothing in the NEC that I am aware of that would prohibit this & there is nothing in the listing of the extension box that prohibits this.

Have any of the inspectors given you any justification for this practice?

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
#77589 06/27/01 05:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
Member
i know of one inspector who will not allow extensions. he is very good with the code, yet spends much time in civil court over items others would not bother with.

#77590 06/27/01 08:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,289
Member
There was never any justification made that I know of. The guys in the field had at least 4S boxes, proper conductor lengths, and the extensions were grounded with approved ground clips. They still were turned down. It got so bad that we eventually just banned the practice as a company policy so we didn't have to send a truck 75 miles to change them. (Then why do they have KO's?)
This happened all over the place, too, not just 1 city. ??????????

#77591 06/27/01 08:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
While working Industrial in Wisconsin, we weren't allowed to use extensions on any "new construction"... the premise being that the system should have been designed right in the first place, but old work was OK.

Here in WV, it's a life-saver...
I wish they made a 4" extension for a 3" octagonal box...

I only use extensions in new work on very rare circumstances.


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#77592 06/27/01 09:16 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
How, then would one make a surface extension from a flush mounted box?

#77593 06/27/01 09:23 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Hubble makes a surface mounted extension for flush mounted boxes, they're plastic and ivory in color. When in a pinch, they'll work, I've used them to "stretch" SWB's to get a dimmer in them. (Old work)

I hope this is what you were referering to, Redsy.

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 06-28-2001).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#77594 06/28/01 08:15 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,289
Member
Redsy, you've got an excellent point there. The "EA" type (1 gang to 4-S) of extension boxes would all be sent to the dumpsters. I've used these on a regular basis forever for surface ext's and not ever been hassled.
I'm at a total loss here.????

#77595 06/28/01 10:12 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
Quote
Originally posted by sparky66wv:
Hubble makes a surface mounted extension for flush mounted boxes, they're plastic and ivory in color. When in a pinch, they'll work, I've used them to "stretch" SWB's to get a dimmer in them. (Old work)

I hope this is what you were referering to, Redsy.
I actually was referring to an extension of the whole wiring system to additional devices. But, I'm glad you mentioned those. I do some real-estate work, and often have to add GFCI receptacle to old (small) wall boxes. I have used plastic wiremold device boxes on top of the wall case to allow installation of the larger device, but was unsure about the practice. I wonder if this is the same as using the Hubbells.[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 06-28-2001).]

#77596 06/29/01 06:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
Member
wiremould makes extensions too...

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,157
Joined: May 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,687 Are you busy
228,470 Re: Forum
213,324 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5