ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by Texas_Ranger - 09/22/20 09:33 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
10 amp circuit breakers #7734 02/20/02 10:01 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 5
B
Bob Hinshaw Offline OP
Junior Member
I have a friend who was asking me about a problem he is having in his house. He keeps tripping 10 amp circuit breakers, especially on the freezer and micro wave circuit. First, I didn't know it was acceptable, especially in a newer home, to use 10 amp breakers. I cannot find in the code where it states that you can and what wire size to use. Is this acceptable, or should the breakers be changed, if the wire size is correct?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7735 02/20/02 12:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 840
C
CTwireman Offline
Member
10 amp breakers? [Linked Image] That's a new one on me!! Could you give us some more information? Like the manufacturer and model # of the breakers and panel?

Are you sure that the writing hasnt worn off on the breaker and you are misreading it?


Peter
Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7736 02/20/02 01:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
I believe some manufacturers make "unit breakers" to be individually mounted on a din rail or similar application, to protect specific piece of equipment. However, for branch ckts., 210.3 shows a minimum rating of 15 amps. Also, I don't believe UL lists branch circuit breakers below 15 amps

[This message has been edited by Redsy (edited 02-20-2002).]

Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7737 02/20/02 01:50 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 176
W
WARREN1 Offline
Member
You are right Redsy. Square D makes a QOU unit mount miniature breaker as low as 10 amps in 120/240 volts 1,2,3poles and 277 volts 1pole.
Art. 240-6 of the 1999 NEC list only as low as 15 amps, but the next sentence says non-standard fuses and inverse time breakers shall be permitted.

Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7738 02/20/02 01:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
Square D and other breakers have a large #10 on the face, which means 10,000 Amps Interrupting Current, not 10A Overcurrent protection.

Look closer at the black numbers on the toggle itself if Sq D, or near there...

It should say either 15, 20, (or God forbid) 30 on it...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7739 02/20/02 03:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 5
B
Bob Hinshaw Offline OP
Junior Member
Thank you guys for your quick response to my inquiry. I have sent these responses to my friend who is going to double check his panel tonight. I am hoping it is what sparky66wv suggested. Will keep everyone posted.

Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7740 02/21/02 09:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 5
B
Bob Hinshaw Offline OP
Junior Member
After further investigation, he discovered it was a 15 amp circuit breaker, with the large #10 on it. Well, he still has a problem, but I feel better. Thank you guys for your help.

Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7741 02/21/02 09:53 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
10 amp breakers are common in industrial control panels. Square D makes a QO plug-on and QOB bolt-on panel style in 1, 2, and 3 pole versions as well as their unit mount QOU. (Look at page 8-10 in their Digest).

These are not common in normal panels or loadcenters.

Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7742 02/21/02 11:20 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,960
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
Bob,

Does He have a Microwave over the Stove?
Just a guess, because Kitchen receptacles should be on 20A circits. A common situation I've seen is for someone to replace a range hood (which is on a 15A general purpose circuit with multiple other loads) with a Microwave unit. It should have been put on a dedicated circuit.

Bill


Bill
Re: 10 amp circuit breakers #7743 02/21/02 11:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 840
C
CTwireman Offline
Member
Bob-
Youre Welcome. [Linked Image] I suggest having an elctrician come take a look at that situation. It is possible that the #10 does not run throughout the entire ciruit, which would make it dangerous to upgrade the breaker to a 20 amp or 30 amp. Someone could have tapped #12 or #14 off of it, seeing that #10 is cumbersome to work with. At any rate, I would suggest professional assistance.


Peter
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,721
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,983 Are you busy
204,393 Re: Forum
192,611 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3