ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by HotLine1. 11/20/18 03:08 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Minimum # of Circuits #76996
04/10/01 10:57 PM
04/10/01 10:57 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
What is the minimum # of circuits that a single family Home must have and what are they? Talking about circuits that are required by the NEC.

Bill

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Minimum # of Circuits #76997
04/11/01 12:29 AM
04/11/01 12:29 AM
Scott35  Offline

Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
I seem to remember this being done somewhere before - but I'll take a shot at it! [Linked Image]

Minimum 2 small appliance circuits,
Minimum 1 Laundry circuit,
Minimum 1 Dedicated Bathroom circuit,
At least 1 Lighting circuit,
At least 1 Receptacle circuit.

So I would say - No less than 6 circuits for bare bones minimum.
I would wonder if the smoke detectors need a dedicated circuit, plus the bedroom[s] circuit would need to dedicated when the AFCIs come into effect in 2002 NEC.

Other things would be Washer / Dryers, Disposal / Dishwashers, Instahots, garage door openers, yadda - yadda - yadda - but at least the min. 6 [for a small 400 sq. ft house, maybe?? [Linked Image]].

As always - I must include this disclaimer!!
I really am unsure to Residential codes over the US, let alone what's going on locally - due to limited involvement in Residential installations. Others more involved can explain details more correctly.

Reading the above disclaimer removes all liability from me, and allows me to track your credit card usage on-line and run it up for my personal use without fear of prosecution. Also, I am allowed to sell your user profile to hundreds of Advertisers for large profits to me, and endless bombardment of junk E-Mail from Spambots to you, without possibility of any legal suits made on me.

[now that's a real dumb joke [Linked Image]...]

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: Minimum # of Circuits #76998
04/11/01 05:29 AM
04/11/01 05:29 AM
S
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,371
does lighting and receptacle need to be separate?....220-3(b)(10), i think 3 watts per sq covers all...

i guess i'm bidding against ya Scott!

[Linked Image]

Re: Minimum # of Circuits #76999
04/11/01 07:15 AM
04/11/01 07:15 AM
Bill Addiss  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
Scott,

Yes, It's been done before and I wasn't satisfied with the results. So I thought I'd bring it up again.

The outcome of that thread (according to others) was that the following were Required by code and nothing else.

OK >> Minimum 2 sm appliance cir, (Kitchen)
OK >> Minimum 1 Laundry circuit,
OK >> Minimum 1 Dedicated Bathroom circuit,

Total of 4

Comments?

Re: Minimum # of Circuits #77000
04/11/01 09:53 AM
04/11/01 09:53 AM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Bill,
210-52(a)(1) will require at least one more circuit as the receptacles required by this section can not be connected to any of the circuits in your list.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Minimum # of Circuits #77001
04/11/01 05:21 PM
04/11/01 05:21 PM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
Take a look at Appendix D, example 1 "Minimum # of branch circuits required" covers things quite well. Note that the minimum number of general purpose circuits for lighting loads (this includes most receptacles) works out to one 15 amp circuit for every 600 square feet or one 20 amp circuit for every 800 square feet.

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: Minimum # of Circuits #77002
04/11/01 09:38 PM
04/11/01 09:38 PM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Tom,
An appendix is not a code rule. Where in the code does it say that we must provide those circuits?
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Minimum # of Circuits #77003
04/12/01 05:56 AM
04/12/01 05:56 AM
S
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,371
the appendix(B) does start off stating it is purley informational.
so why would it give you bad info?
[Linked Image]
given the provisions of 220-3(b)(10)

Re: Minimum # of Circuits #77004
04/12/01 09:52 AM
04/12/01 09:52 AM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Sparky,
The question is the minimum number of circuits and still meet the code. You don't find code rules in the appendix. The calculations in 220 tell me how to size the service, but do not tell me how many circuits I must provide. 220 also tells me how to calculate the branch circuit load but does not tell me that I must install those circuits. Should any one ever build a house and use only 5 circuits??, of course not, but I think that the code would permit it.
Don(resqcapt19)
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Minimum # of Circuits #77005
04/12/01 01:09 PM
04/12/01 01:09 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
Well,

This is quite a different response than the last time this was discussed. My opinion was expressed exactly by Don:
Quote
210-52(a)(1) will require at least one more circuit as the receptacles required by this section can not be connected to any of the circuits in your list.
Don(resqcapt19)


I was looking for the other thread but couldn't find it. There seemed to be several people insisting that there were no requirements in the code for this. I couldn't convince them otherwise. I'm glad to see that the people here have what it takes to see past the words (or lack of them) and see the overall 'Big Picture'

In other words, It does not say anywhere in the code (I think) that a General purpose lighting circuit is required. It does say that Lighting and certain outlets are required by code, and as Don pointed out,( [Linked Image] ) these cannot go on any of the other circuits.

[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
Bill

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Theelectrikid
Theelectrikid
Levittown, PA
Posts: 810
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,645 Are you busy
188,780 Re: Forum
178,497 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0296 MB (Peak: 1.2061 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-21 01:50:34 UTC