ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Unusual Well Pump Switch Failure
by sabrown - 10/28/20 04:31 PM
Look at this mess...
by InspectorE - 10/27/20 09:09 PM
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
fused or non fused #7698 02/16/02 10:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
A
amptrap Offline OP
Junior Member
maybe i should already know this but i was wondering when you need a fused disconnect and when you dont. i was telling a friend he needed a fused disconnect on a duct heater because it had no internal overloads. it just had a disconnect switch for working inside the heater


=0
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: fused or non fused #7699 02/16/02 10:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
N
Nick Offline
Member
A heater would not require overloads. It is protected by the branch circuit over current device. A non-fused disconnect is fine in this application.

Re: fused or non fused #7700 02/16/02 10:34 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
A
amptrap Offline OP
Junior Member
so what is a good rule of thumb to use fused or non fused. does every resistive load not need a fused disconnect.


=0
Re: fused or non fused #7701 02/16/02 10:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
N
Nick Offline
Member
Check the manufacturers nameplate. Most equipment will state weather or not a fuse is required. For instance, if a piece of equipment states a maximum fuse size of a specified value, you must use a fuse to protect the unit. Doing otherwise would void the listing and be a violation of 110.3(B). If it states maximum fuse or circuit breaker you could use either. You could use a breaker as protection and a non-fused disco at the unit.

Re: fused or non fused #7702 02/16/02 10:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
A
amptrap Offline OP
Junior Member
thanks a bunch nick i guess i never thought of it like that.


=0
Re: fused or non fused #7703 02/21/02 07:10 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 329
S
Steve Miller Offline
Member
Be careful on the AC/Heat pump units. Some say max fuse size and some say max fuse/HACR CB size. If it says only max fuse then you need the fuse (someplace in the circuit) regardless of the breaker.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
271,026 Are you busy
205,035 Re: Forum
193,143 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3