ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by gfretwell. 11/17/18 02:19 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
fused or non fused #7698
02/16/02 09:27 PM
02/16/02 09:27 PM
A
amptrap  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
dallas tx
maybe i should already know this but i was wondering when you need a fused disconnect and when you dont. i was telling a friend he needed a fused disconnect on a duct heater because it had no internal overloads. it just had a disconnect switch for working inside the heater


=0
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: fused or non fused #7699
02/16/02 09:31 PM
02/16/02 09:31 PM
N
Nick  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
Riverside, CA
A heater would not require overloads. It is protected by the branch circuit over current device. A non-fused disconnect is fine in this application.

Re: fused or non fused #7700
02/16/02 09:34 PM
02/16/02 09:34 PM
A
amptrap  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
dallas tx
so what is a good rule of thumb to use fused or non fused. does every resistive load not need a fused disconnect.


=0
Re: fused or non fused #7701
02/16/02 09:55 PM
02/16/02 09:55 PM
N
Nick  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
Riverside, CA
Check the manufacturers nameplate. Most equipment will state weather or not a fuse is required. For instance, if a piece of equipment states a maximum fuse size of a specified value, you must use a fuse to protect the unit. Doing otherwise would void the listing and be a violation of 110.3(B). If it states maximum fuse or circuit breaker you could use either. You could use a breaker as protection and a non-fused disco at the unit.

Re: fused or non fused #7702
02/16/02 09:59 PM
02/16/02 09:59 PM
A
amptrap  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
dallas tx
thanks a bunch nick i guess i never thought of it like that.


=0
Re: fused or non fused #7703
02/21/02 06:10 PM
02/21/02 06:10 PM
S
Steve Miller  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 325
Loudoun Cty, VA
Be careful on the AC/Heat pump units. Some say max fuse size and some say max fuse/HACR CB size. If it says only max fuse then you need the fuse (someplace in the circuit) regardless of the breaker.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 98
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
djk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
251,553 Are you busy
188,713 Re: Forum
178,421 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.028s Queries: 14 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9751 MB (Peak: 1.1186 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-18 01:44:03 UTC