ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 25 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#76426 01/30/01 06:59 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Assuming #12 wire is being used, can one use 15 Amp snap switches on 20 Amp circuits assuming the load is less than 1440 Watts?
(80% of 15A @ 120V)

I don't like using #14 wire and I've always protected lighting circuits at 15A anyway; so can I put 20 Amp breakers in instead and still be code?

380-14a seems to point towards sizing for load rather than circuit protection...

But there's always a paragraph hiding in this book somewhere...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#76427 01/30/01 07:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
Yes, you can put 15 amp switches on a 20 amp circuit, provided the load does not exceed 15 amps.

There is no reason that I know, other than controlling a motor, to "Derate" your switch to 80% (12 amps).


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
#76428 01/30/01 11:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,081
Likes: 3
Member
'66,

Yes you can use 15 amp switches. I am kind of opposite in that I would prefer #14 on these 15 amp switches. It seems to me that getting the screw torque just right on (standard grade) 15 amp switches is tough. It's easy to overtighten and strip out the screws or if it's not tight enough you can watch the screws turn (loosen) as you push the device back into the box. I think 20 amp rated switches are a better match for #12 awg wire.

Bill


Bill
#76429 02/24/01 02:53 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Never had that problem with Leviton or Eagle brand devices...except for that time I used my DeWalt screw gun...live and learn!


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 70
Joined: January 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 9
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,559 Are you busy
231,909 Re: Forum
216,544 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5