ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
15A Switches #76426
01/30/01 06:59 PM
01/30/01 06:59 PM
sparky66wv  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
Assuming #12 wire is being used, can one use 15 Amp snap switches on 20 Amp circuits assuming the load is less than 1440 Watts?
(80% of 15A @ 120V)

I don't like using #14 wire and I've always protected lighting circuits at 15A anyway; so can I put 20 Amp breakers in instead and still be code?

380-14a seems to point towards sizing for load rather than circuit protection...

But there's always a paragraph hiding in this book somewhere...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 15A Switches #76427
01/30/01 07:33 PM
01/30/01 07:33 PM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
Yes, you can put 15 amp switches on a 20 amp circuit, provided the load does not exceed 15 amps.

There is no reason that I know, other than controlling a motor, to "Derate" your switch to 80% (12 amps).


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: 15A Switches #76428
01/30/01 11:41 PM
01/30/01 11:41 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
'66,

Yes you can use 15 amp switches. I am kind of opposite in that I would prefer #14 on these 15 amp switches. It seems to me that getting the screw torque just right on (standard grade) 15 amp switches is tough. It's easy to overtighten and strip out the screws or if it's not tight enough you can watch the screws turn (loosen) as you push the device back into the box. I think 20 amp rated switches are a better match for #12 awg wire.

Bill

Re: 15A Switches #76429
02/24/01 02:53 AM
02/24/01 02:53 AM
sparky66wv  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
Never had that problem with Leviton or Eagle brand devices...except for that time I used my DeWalt screw gun...live and learn!


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 98
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
251,428 Are you busy
188,644 Re: Forum
178,344 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9602 MB (Peak: 1.0940 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-14 08:58:35 UTC