ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 22 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
3
Member
Another journeyman & I (with 2 helpers) are now into our 4th week of turning a new & empty 80'x30' into the control room of the soon to be largest switch on the biggest trunk (345KV) in Texas. I know they(the utility)are exempt from code but there ARE some strange things, such as using white (as well as green) for phase, but using black for ground. OK...I got over that one. Next, after installing the overhead trays, AC & DC panels, etc., I wire in the requisite 5 rows of the usual cheesy fluorescent fixtures and receptacles according to prints. At this point we still haven't received the panel schedules, but hey.... they show the circuit numbers on the lighting and receptacle prints (AC 43X, AC44X, AC45Y, AC46Y, etc.), and, knowing service will be 240v.(X&Y), I mount both panels (1-42)&(43-84)and terminate the 120v. stuff. This week the panel schedules finally show up...and when I saw how the engineer has arbitrarily choosen to number the circuits according to his idea of the actual number of circuits with no correlation to panel numbers, well........ Example, if the first breaker on the left hand side was a two-pole 240v breaker, one would normally number the first wire #1(X-black) and the red wire below it #3(Y-red). Said engineer instead chooses AC1X and AC1Y. OK.....I can learn to live with that. BUT....I'm running service this coming Monday and I wonder how AM I going to pull FOUR 4/0 THW's for a distance of 150' through a single 2" underground PVC with two 90's ? (from the 200 A. disconnect I installed out by the transfer switch all the way into the control room to my distribution panels). But this IS what the customer calls for...and the plans MUST BE FOLLOWED!!!

[This message has been edited by 3rd degree Burns (edited 02-09-2002).]

[This message has been edited by 3rd degree Burns (edited 02-09-2002).]

[This message has been edited by 3rd degree Burns (edited 02-09-2002).]

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
Member
LOL!, 3rd Deg.........get the pull 1/2 way there, play the 'dope' and ask him how to do it.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,291
Member
Send a Request for Information to the engineer, detailing your problem.
(He'll try to shirk it off, of course)
Then, give them a price to run a properly sized conduit overhead. Make sure you get a signed Change Order before you proceed with the work.

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
Four 4/0 THWNs or XHHWs will fit in 2" schedule 40 PVC. Are the 90's PVC or rigid? The pull rope will probably cut through the 90's if they are PVC.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
In a pinch, buy some nylon webbing from a caver or mountain climbing supply, (or any other source if you can find it...) 1" to 1-1/4" wide is good. It will be less likely to cut into the PVC Sweeps.


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
Sparky,
In a rope rescue class I was taught that moving nylon straps on any type of pastic was something to avoid. They said there was too much heat build up and the nylon could fail. Of course this was for life safety not pulling wire. I've never tried a nylon strap, but often use rigid 90s in under ground runs. I've also had good luck soaping the pull rope.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Hmmm!?!? Allegheny Power uses webbing for UG pulls, mabe it's not Nylon?

What about bonding concerns with the lone GRC sweeps in the middle of PVC runs?

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 02-09-2002).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
Sparky,
I've never used them above grade and the code permits them to be unbonded when they are covered with 18" of earth. See Exception #3 to 250.86.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
N
Member
GRC sweeps so not need to be bonded if they are at least 18” underground.

I have found that mule tape works real good. It has footage marks every foot too.

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
What is "mule" tape.
If I'm pulling anything like that it would be with tugger and the rope that goes with it.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 8
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,642 Are you busy
231,940 Re: Forum
216,591 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5