ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
nec 110.3 (B)
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
C
Member
My freind just recently started a business and rents an 18,000 square foot warehouse. Off the top of my head, there are about a dozen lighting circuits. The breakers should really all be replaced, and there are signs of overload in the wires(insulation falling off inside the load centers)A few of the breakers keep tripping, so I replaced them with new ones. He keeps calling me to change the breakers. As of right now, I still have a year left before I can take my journeyman's license. What would you do?

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 214
E
Member
if insulation is falling off the wires it's almost certainley time for a re-wire. In my opinion.

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
J
Junior Member
I agree with last poster that it is time to rewire, but it sound like you have marginal circuit sizing and under size wire. I suggest you increase the number of circuits and increase the wire size for voltage drop.

This sames like are there just too many lights on a circuit. While circuit is not overloaded the it probably is pushing the 80% load. You need to get the load down so you are pulling no more than 80% including the 125% for continuous duty.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 38
S
Member
Have you put an amprobe on the wiring to see what it is you're dealing with?

How old is this installation? What kind of fixtures are they? What kind of wire is it?

[This message has been edited by stevecheyenne (edited 02-12-2007).]

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
If the breakers are being used to control the lights, you should make sure that they are HID rated (it will be marked on the breaker, you usually have to special order these).


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,761 Are you busy
217,372 Re: Forum
203,712 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5