ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
Motor Load Relationships Between Fans and Pumps
by The Watt Doctor - 11/18/21 09:24 AM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 11/05/21 06:45 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 50 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#74666 01/30/07 08:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 785
B
BigB Offline OP
Member
I normally use Cutler Hammer meter combo load centers, both the wide body 40/40 (MBE4040B200BT) and the narrow 20/40 (MBE2040B200BT). There is an add a lug kit that will fit the 20/40 just fine, so you can put up to a 4/0 on the neutral lug, but it will not fit the 40/40, as the neutral bars are different. My supply house couldn't help me, they said there isn't one available to fit the 40/40. Now the funny thing is, there is a 200 amp breaker available for the 40/40, that only fits the 40/40 since it takes up four spaces, two across. So I can put in a 200 amp subfeed, except for the neutral.

Has anyone run into this, or have a solution? Yes I have an assortment of lugs and I can probably make one to fit, but I don't like doing this, besides there are at least two inspectors I know of that would fail it if they saw it was a "field fabricated" part.

#74667 01/30/07 10:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
L
Member
Yep had this problem thank god it was a t&m job and we could change to sq D.On the customer nickle. Rod

#74668 01/31/07 01:20 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 38
S
Member
Cutler Hammer has been very good about working with me when I have had problems. I'd give them a call and ask them what to do.

Go through your supply house to get the name and phone number of the local rep, or call the factory in Ontario, CA. The number I have for the factory is several years old but worth a shot - 909-923-2040. The other number I have is the district center in Mira Loma, CA 951-361-2040.

I'll bet they have something to do what you need to do.

#74669 01/31/07 04:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,288
Member
THESE are a little bit pricey and require a crimper, but will suit your need.
I've had troubles with finding field installable modifications to C-H bolt in panels in the past (although the shop I worked at was right next door to the Mira Loma facility, and I could just walk across the parking lot).

C-H is absolutely great in this respect with larger switchgear, though.

#74670 01/31/07 09:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 785
B
BigB Offline OP
Member
Well Steve thanks, that is exactly what I did. I got through at their 800 number I got off their site. Turns out they have a lug, it is a NL300 and will accept up to 300KCMIL. We will see when it gets here in five days, if it fits.

electure, I'd be interested in seeing that product, but I couldn't get the link to open.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Admin
Admin
NY, USA
Posts: 3,669
Joined: October 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 3
Popular Topics(Views)
286,194 Are you busy
218,639 Re: Forum
204,830 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5