ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by ghost307. 10/18/17 02:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,378 Are you busy
177,334 Re: Forum
168,952 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 38 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#72843 - 12/11/06 07:03 PM 200a sub lugs  
harlie_7  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
DELTA OH.
I have a 200A panal in my house and would like to put a 200A sub in my barn. I know seimans dont make a 200A 2pole breaker. Is there a lug kit i can put in this panal to feed the sub? Any other options?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#72844 - 12/11/06 07:30 PM Re: 200a sub lugs  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Harlie, contact a local Electrician, they will be able to help you.

Roger


#72845 - 12/12/06 08:42 PM Re: 200a sub lugs  
circuit man  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
saluda,s.c.
harlie, why not put a seperate meter on the barn? copper is pretty expensive for a 200 amp feed,unless it's real short. but as roger said please contact an electrician


#72846 - 12/12/06 11:00 PM Re: 200a sub lugs  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
What kinds of loads will there be in the barn?


#72847 - 12/12/06 11:26 PM Re: 200a sub lugs  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,262
Fullerton, CA USA
I can't think of a reason that you would want to put in a 200A subpanel fed from a 200A panel.
If your load in the barn is that great, chances are you would need to upgrade the service at the house.
I don't know if it's an alternative, but will the PoCo give you a separate service at the barn?


#72848 - 12/13/06 01:05 AM Re: 200a sub lugs  
SolarPowered  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
Palo Alto, CA, USA
I'm guessing that Harlie has, or has his eye on, a "200A panel", and figures that he needs to supply it with a 200A supply.

Harlie, that's not necessary. Your supply needs to be sized according to the load calcs in the Code, which will almost certainly be less than 200A. It is very likely you can feed your 200A panel with a 50-100A feeder.

[This message has been edited by SolarPowered (edited 12-13-2006).]


#72849 - 12/13/06 03:32 AM Re: 200a sub lugs  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
"seimans dont make a 200A 2pole breaker."

They don't?!? http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/Q2200B.jpg
http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/MBK200A.jpg

http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/QN2200.jpg

http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/QN2200R.jpg

Edit due to pic's being so big you could see the finger-prints of the photographer.....



[This message has been edited by e57 (edited 12-13-2006).]


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#72850 - 12/13/06 07:47 AM Re: 200a sub lugs  
Eddy Current  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 111
Ontario,Canada
All panels have a "per stabb" rating on the inside of the cover. A 200a panel usually has a max of about 70a per stabb. You can't run a 200a circuit from a 200a pqnel. Check the "per stabb" rating on the panel.


#72851 - 12/13/06 08:43 AM Re: 200a sub lugs  
watthead  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 172
South Carolina
Eddy
Wouldn't that make the 80 - 125 amp plug on breakers useless?


#72852 - 12/13/06 08:52 AM Re: 200a sub lugs  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Eddy I have never seen a per stab ratting as low as 70.

I have seen 100 per stab but that does not prevent larger breakers.

A 2 pole 150 amp breaker for a 200 amp panel will use two stabs per phase.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Admin
Admin
NY, USA
Posts: 3,458
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8177 MB (Peak: 0.9956 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-19 00:01:37 UTC