ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
Board tester power supply?
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/13/18 12:14 AM
Voltage sag
by Trumpy. 10/12/18 06:59 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Trumpy. 10/12/18 06:50 PM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/10/18 08:47 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (HotLine1), 29 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
200a sub lugs #72843
12/11/06 07:03 PM
12/11/06 07:03 PM
H
harlie_7  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
DELTA OH.
I have a 200A panal in my house and would like to put a 200A sub in my barn. I know seimans dont make a 200A 2pole breaker. Is there a lug kit i can put in this panal to feed the sub? Any other options?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 200a sub lugs #72844
12/11/06 07:30 PM
12/11/06 07:30 PM
R
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Harlie, contact a local Electrician, they will be able to help you.

Roger

Re: 200a sub lugs #72845
12/12/06 08:42 PM
12/12/06 08:42 PM
C
circuit man  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
saluda,s.c.
harlie, why not put a seperate meter on the barn? copper is pretty expensive for a 200 amp feed,unless it's real short. but as roger said please contact an electrician

Re: 200a sub lugs #72846
12/12/06 11:00 PM
12/12/06 11:00 PM
S
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
What kinds of loads will there be in the barn?

Re: 200a sub lugs #72847
12/12/06 11:26 PM
12/12/06 11:26 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,274
Fullerton, CA USA
I can't think of a reason that you would want to put in a 200A subpanel fed from a 200A panel.
If your load in the barn is that great, chances are you would need to upgrade the service at the house.
I don't know if it's an alternative, but will the PoCo give you a separate service at the barn?

Re: 200a sub lugs #72848
12/13/06 01:05 AM
12/13/06 01:05 AM
S
SolarPowered  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
Palo Alto, CA, USA
I'm guessing that Harlie has, or has his eye on, a "200A panel", and figures that he needs to supply it with a 200A supply.

Harlie, that's not necessary. Your supply needs to be sized according to the load calcs in the Code, which will almost certainly be less than 200A. It is very likely you can feed your 200A panel with a 50-100A feeder.

[This message has been edited by SolarPowered (edited 12-13-2006).]

Re: 200a sub lugs #72849
12/13/06 03:32 AM
12/13/06 03:32 AM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
"seimans dont make a 200A 2pole breaker."

They don't?!? http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/Q2200B.jpg
http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/MBK200A.jpg

http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/QN2200.jpg

http://www.sea.siemens.com/resident/images/Circuit%20Breaker/QN2200R.jpg

Edit due to pic's being so big you could see the finger-prints of the photographer.....



[This message has been edited by e57 (edited 12-13-2006).]


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: 200a sub lugs #72850
12/13/06 07:47 AM
12/13/06 07:47 AM
E
Eddy Current  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 111
Ontario,Canada
All panels have a "per stabb" rating on the inside of the cover. A 200a panel usually has a max of about 70a per stabb. You can't run a 200a circuit from a 200a pqnel. Check the "per stabb" rating on the panel.

Re: 200a sub lugs #72851
12/13/06 08:43 AM
12/13/06 08:43 AM
W
watthead  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 172
South Carolina
Eddy
Wouldn't that make the 80 - 125 amp plug on breakers useless?

Re: 200a sub lugs #72852
12/13/06 08:52 AM
12/13/06 08:52 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Eddy I have never seen a per stab ratting as low as 70.

I have seen 100 per stab but that does not prevent larger breakers.

A 2 pole 150 amp breaker for a 200 amp panel will use two stabs per phase.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,149
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,267 Are you busy
187,916 Re: Forum
177,448 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.066s Queries: 16 (0.035s) Memory: 1.0244 MB (Peak: 1.2022 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-15 23:32:50 UTC