ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 255 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#72773 12/09/06 12:01 PM
W
Hi All,
I am going through the thought process of a career change. I am very interested in apprenticing and I have no previous elec experience...other than Do-it-yourself stuff. I was curious about some of the members thoughts on how realistic I am being...I am 42yo and am thinking maybe No-one would be interested in bringing on a man of my age. The market seems pretty hot in this area. Would appreciate a few opinions.

Thanks

#72774 12/09/06 01:01 PM
M
"If it feels good do it" John Lennon.

#72775 12/09/06 01:48 PM
J
I hired a 42 year old apprentice a few years ago. He's still with me and doing great. He was an experienced hvac installer who was very unhappy with his company and the hvac in general. Personally the age would be no factor at all. Do you have construction experience?

John Erickson
#72776 12/09/06 01:58 PM
W
No construction experience other than working in my own place doing Hardwood floors and some drywalling.

#72777 12/09/06 02:10 PM
L
Good luck Wrangler, you would not be the first and surley not the last older apprentice. Good luck if you decide to do so.

Luke

Luke Clarke
Electrical Planner for TVA.

#72778 12/09/06 02:45 PM
Cat Servant