ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 5
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by ghost307. 12/15/17 08:13 AM
2017 NEC Changes
by ghost307. 12/15/17 08:09 AM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,061 Are you busy
179,499 Re: Forum
170,418 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 31 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#72026 - 11/15/06 10:57 PM FPE pushmatic  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
In the last week, I have had two seperate calls about light flickering. Both customers have FPE pushmatic panels. I see all the warnings about stab-loc panels but are pushmatics a serious problem too.

Also, are there any sources for replacement breakers, or are they outragious.

Thanks, Merlin


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#72027 - 11/15/06 11:21 PM Re: FPE pushmatic  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
FPE or Push-matic? TWo seperate entities in my mind...

FPE only made one of common company style stab and bolt on.

When I think of Push-matic Bull-dog's they were not of the same brand, or style. Haven't seen one in some time - not frequenting that type of work lately. If thier were the demo drew removed them long before I get there.

FPE, my supply house carries one of two companies that manufacture replacement breakers for the US market. (Still pricey - it pays to remove most often)

For Bull-dog Push-matic, I get used ones from a local re-seller that tests and refurbishes them.

The same for certain FPE. But the same thing, why not rip it out and start over? The breaker cost is justification alone. If that doesn't justify it, I can get replacement panel parts from a scavenger shop a few (60) miles away.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#72028 - 11/16/06 10:09 AM Re: FPE pushmatic  
Zapped  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 482
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Try:

A to Z Breakers, Inc.
atozcircuit@sbcblobal.net
800 209-9900
1170 E. Gene Autry Way
Anaheim, CA 92805

I'm pretty sure they ship to anywhere, but not positive. They haven't let me down yet on oddball breakers.


#72029 - 11/16/06 10:57 AM Re: FPE pushmatic  
JBD  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
WI, USA
First Pushmatics were made by Bulldog.
Then they were sold to ITE. Then ITE was bought by Gould but they kept the ITE brand name. Currently the ITE brand name is owned by Siemens.

The last time I checked my local distributor was still stocking new Pushmatic breakers, but I don't know the current manufacturer (they might have the Challenger name).


#72030 - 11/16/06 02:09 PM Re: FPE pushmatic  
mxslick  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 803
Atomic City, ID USA
Well, since you usually have to push on an FPE to get it to connect to the buss stab, I guess it could be considered a "Pushmatic". [Linked Image]


Stupid should be painful.

#72031 - 11/16/06 06:34 PM Re: FPE pushmatic  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
Sorry about the confusion. I understand the difference now since I have seen inside the panel. I was thinking that pushmatic was made by FPE. It is actually an ITE panel. However, I think I have narrowed the issue down to a loose neutral on the overhead tri-plex coming into the house.

Although that may be the flicker situation, The panel still has it's own issues. Some of the breakers are difficult to get to close. It takes several times of pushing to get them to contact.

Do these also have a problem with failing to trip on overcurrent or fault like the stab-locs?

What would a person expect to pay for a replacement breaker for this panel?

Thanks, Merlin


#72032 - 11/16/06 09:32 PM Re: FPE pushmatic  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Never really had a problem like FPE of not tripping - mostly not being able to re-set.... But is a really old breaker design, and much less reponsive to real world use than a much more modern breaker. Bear in mind that this is one of the first designs.....


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#72033 - 11/16/06 11:19 PM Re: FPE pushmatic  
stamcon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 329
So San Francisco CA
Merlin, hdsupply.com has a few Pushmatic breakers. Free delivery, usually next day, for orders over $50. A single pole 20 is $19.79.

steve

https://hdsupply.com/webapp/wcs/sto...eSearch&resultType=1&searchTermS cope=3&searchType=ALL&searchTermCaseSensitive=no&searchTermOperator=LIKE&orderBy1=CatEntDescName&errorViewName=AdvancedSearchView&searchTerm=pushmatic



Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7940 MB (Peak: 0.9522 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-15 19:57:28 UTC