ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 255 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
M
menegt Offline OP
I'm an electrician working for a major university. I was told by our stationary engineer to meg out a motor because he was getting "ground fault" errors on his VFD.
I said okay I'll meg out the conductors from the vfd to the disconnect first then from the disconnect to the motor second. The first meg went okay i got 9.99 meg ohms (1k megohm meter). The second test (disconnect to motor) through me for a loop. I got .04 on all three legs to ground. I took out my volt/ohm meter and got a low resistance to ground reading also. I tried the same tests on a good motor nearby. Same readings! The stationary engineer says that the first motor i megged was going bad, but i megged almost a brand new motor and got the same readings. I would like to know if there is a certain reading/value i should be looking for in a motor. The stationary engineer said anything below 4k between phase ground. My real question is how do i properly check insulation of a motor and how do I check to see if the motor is still good (no matter what meter i use)

G