ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Our Company!
by faradaygroup. 12/15/18 09:23 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by wa2ise. 12/14/18 05:09 PM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 19 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Motion sensor/photocell #63404
03/14/06 04:01 PM
03/14/06 04:01 PM
D
Dnkldorf  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
I am having a bad day......

This is what I got. I had the landscapers build me a column at the end of my driveway. I was intent on putting a motion detector/photo cell combo in the column. This way the lights on the front of my house and the driveway lights could come on automatically with the photocell for a given time, and then go out. Then If I came home late, when I pulled in, the motion sensor would trip and the lights would come on.

I can't seem to find such a device, that is outdoor rated for a Sg box....

I need help on this one...

Anyone done this or seen such a thing?

I would ideally like to match the pewter block..(not asking too much) [Linked Image]

Dnk....

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63405
03/14/06 04:54 PM
03/14/06 04:54 PM
A
Alan Nadon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
Elkhart, IN. USA
Big box stores have replacement detector heads with 1/2 inch male hubs that might work. They are for the regular flood lights that go on the outside of a building. I mounted the lights up near the peak of my garage for maximum spread but didn't want to climb way up there to make adjustments to the detector so I remote mounted it on a box 8 feet below where a short ladder can be used. They come in white or black.
Alan--


Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.
Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63406
03/14/06 05:07 PM
03/14/06 05:07 PM
R
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Those heads that Allan mentioned... I find the ones made by " Heath Zenith" to be about the only ones that work properly... I reccomend that brand if you can find them
A.D

Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63407
03/14/06 05:50 PM
03/14/06 05:50 PM
D
Dnkldorf  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
Not them kind fellas, that would look ugly sticking out of a column...

Not a head like flood lights, but more like a indoor occupancy sensor that fits into a SG box. But has a photocell built into it..

But are they made for outdoor use?

My google, googled my brain. Maybe I'm typing in the wrong info for search....Ugh


Dnk...

Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63408
03/14/06 07:39 PM
03/14/06 07:39 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Dink...look at the motion sensor light switches a bit closer....most of them have a photosensor built in, so they will operate lights only at a certain, settable level of darkness.

Of course, you would still need a timer wired in parallel for the "constant on" period. While they make one that fits in a switchplate, and they claim to have fixed the bugs...well, the early ones were junk.

Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63409
03/14/06 07:44 PM
03/14/06 07:44 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Dnk,

What will the total load be, with all the lights?

Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63410
03/14/06 07:58 PM
03/14/06 07:58 PM
D
Dnkldorf  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
les, less than 500W, maybe 300....


Dnk...

Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63411
03/14/06 08:37 PM
03/14/06 08:37 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Ok the reason i ask is the sensors usually don't hold up with 150W max, you may want to use a contactor, i have X10 control for all lighting, i turn on the lights in driveway, or back of house, from car, or trucks, with key fobs, works great, and less hard wiring.

Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63412
03/14/06 09:08 PM
03/14/06 09:08 PM
D
Dnkldorf  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
Les, a contactor wouldn't be out of the question, just finding the unit I'm looking for is being the hard part...

Dnk..

Re: Motion sensor/photocell #63413
03/14/06 09:49 PM
03/14/06 09:49 PM
W
WFO  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 202
Cat Spring, TX
Probably a stupid remark on my part, but make sure you don't put it where your headlights turn the darn thing off.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,050
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,237 Are you busy
189,201 Re: Forum
178,885 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0241 MB (Peak: 1.1989 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-16 11:21:13 UTC