ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,043 Are you busy
175,660 Re: Forum
167,887 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (annemarie1), 79 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#63404 - 03/14/06 05:01 PM Motion sensor/photocell  
Dnkldorf  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
I am having a bad day......

This is what I got. I had the landscapers build me a column at the end of my driveway. I was intent on putting a motion detector/photo cell combo in the column. This way the lights on the front of my house and the driveway lights could come on automatically with the photocell for a given time, and then go out. Then If I came home late, when I pulled in, the motion sensor would trip and the lights would come on.

I can't seem to find such a device, that is outdoor rated for a Sg box....

I need help on this one...

Anyone done this or seen such a thing?

I would ideally like to match the pewter block..(not asking too much) [Linked Image]

Dnk....


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#63405 - 03/14/06 05:54 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
Alan Nadon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
Elkhart, IN. USA
Big box stores have replacement detector heads with 1/2 inch male hubs that might work. They are for the regular flood lights that go on the outside of a building. I mounted the lights up near the peak of my garage for maximum spread but didn't want to climb way up there to make adjustments to the detector so I remote mounted it on a box 8 feet below where a short ladder can be used. They come in white or black.
Alan--


Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.

#63406 - 03/14/06 06:07 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Those heads that Allan mentioned... I find the ones made by " Heath Zenith" to be about the only ones that work properly... I reccomend that brand if you can find them
A.D


#63407 - 03/14/06 06:50 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
Dnkldorf  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
Not them kind fellas, that would look ugly sticking out of a column...

Not a head like flood lights, but more like a indoor occupancy sensor that fits into a SG box. But has a photocell built into it..

But are they made for outdoor use?

My google, googled my brain. Maybe I'm typing in the wrong info for search....Ugh


Dnk...


#63408 - 03/14/06 08:39 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Dink...look at the motion sensor light switches a bit closer....most of them have a photosensor built in, so they will operate lights only at a certain, settable level of darkness.

Of course, you would still need a timer wired in parallel for the "constant on" period. While they make one that fits in a switchplate, and they claim to have fixed the bugs...well, the early ones were junk.


#63409 - 03/14/06 08:44 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Dnk,

What will the total load be, with all the lights?


#63410 - 03/14/06 08:58 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
Dnkldorf  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
les, less than 500W, maybe 300....


Dnk...


#63411 - 03/14/06 09:37 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Ok the reason i ask is the sensors usually don't hold up with 150W max, you may want to use a contactor, i have X10 control for all lighting, i turn on the lights in driveway, or back of house, from car, or trucks, with key fobs, works great, and less hard wiring.


#63412 - 03/14/06 10:08 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
Dnkldorf  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
Les, a contactor wouldn't be out of the question, just finding the unit I'm looking for is being the hard part...

Dnk..


#63413 - 03/14/06 10:49 PM Re: Motion sensor/photocell  
WFO  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 202
Cat Spring, TX
Probably a stupid remark on my part, but make sure you don't put it where your headlights turn the darn thing off.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 0.8174 MB (Peak: 0.9934 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-21 21:35:37 UTC