ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 8
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by sparky. 12/17/17 03:51 PM
Holiday Wishes to all!!
by sparky. 12/17/17 03:45 PM
2017 NEC Changes
by sparky. 12/17/17 08:46 AM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,089 Are you busy
179,532 Re: Forum
170,443 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#62426 - 02/15/06 02:41 PM Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install  
aldav53  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
Installing an outdoor panel for an indoor underground aquarium tank which will have 2 or 3 pump motors, probably similar to pool pump motors. A main 200 amp panel feeds a 125 amp sub-panel panel, then I will come off the 125a sub-panel with a.. probably 60 amp outdoor panel for the aquarium tank, the ones they use on pools (tan colored) for pump motors etc., should work ok. I think they hold about 8 circuits. Or is there a better type to use?. Should be ok to run a sub-panel off another sub-panel, correct?


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#62427 - 02/15/06 08:27 PM Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,883
Brick, NJ USA
Aldav53:

As long as the 'loads' are within the capacity of the OCP's you could do sub-panels to the 10th power(?) Check your connected loads, and perhaps do a quick load calc.

Any 3R panel would be acceptable outside, as long as it;s properly sized. (# of available circuits; ampacity of main lugs)

Hopefully, this is the type answers you're looking for.

John


John

#62428 - 02/16/06 12:44 PM Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install  
aldav53  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
The home has a 400a service fed with 2 mains split into 2 - 200a panels. Each 200a panel has a 125a off it. I'm using 1 of the 125a sub-panels. But your right I'll have to do a quick load calc.
I've seen a lot of those (tan colored) sub-panels, they usually have a built in GFI recept and reciever for a remote pool light control inside the panel. But guess I don't need that. A regular outdoor 8 or 12 circuit panel should work, fed with #6's probably, as long as it doesn't exceed the 125a panel load.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"

#62429 - 02/16/06 12:49 PM Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install  
aldav53  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
Also, pool pump motors aren't fed with a GFI breaker, but spa's are. Why is that? If I use a GFI breaker to feed the aquarium pump motors, not sure if thats required?
I'll post this in the code section too.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"

#62430 - 02/17/06 10:38 AM Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install  
aldav53  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
The load on this aquarium wil have 1 - 18a heater, 1 - 18a chiller, (not used at the same time), a 10a pump, and 3 - 4amp motors for other stuff.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"


Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7689 MB (Peak: 0.9102 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-18 01:14:14 UTC