ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/19/18 04:38 PM
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/18/18 09:08 AM
Light Pole Grounding
by Mosfet74. 08/18/18 08:42 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install #62426
02/15/06 03:41 PM
02/15/06 03:41 PM
A
aldav53  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
Installing an outdoor panel for an indoor underground aquarium tank which will have 2 or 3 pump motors, probably similar to pool pump motors. A main 200 amp panel feeds a 125 amp sub-panel panel, then I will come off the 125a sub-panel with a.. probably 60 amp outdoor panel for the aquarium tank, the ones they use on pools (tan colored) for pump motors etc., should work ok. I think they hold about 8 circuits. Or is there a better type to use?. Should be ok to run a sub-panel off another sub-panel, correct?


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install #62427
02/15/06 09:27 PM
02/15/06 09:27 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Aldav53:

As long as the 'loads' are within the capacity of the OCP's you could do sub-panels to the 10th power(?) Check your connected loads, and perhaps do a quick load calc.

Any 3R panel would be acceptable outside, as long as it;s properly sized. (# of available circuits; ampacity of main lugs)

Hopefully, this is the type answers you're looking for.

John


John
Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install #62428
02/16/06 01:44 PM
02/16/06 01:44 PM
A
aldav53  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
The home has a 400a service fed with 2 mains split into 2 - 200a panels. Each 200a panel has a 125a off it. I'm using 1 of the 125a sub-panels. But your right I'll have to do a quick load calc.
I've seen a lot of those (tan colored) sub-panels, they usually have a built in GFI recept and reciever for a remote pool light control inside the panel. But guess I don't need that. A regular outdoor 8 or 12 circuit panel should work, fed with #6's probably, as long as it doesn't exceed the 125a panel load.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install #62429
02/16/06 01:49 PM
02/16/06 01:49 PM
A
aldav53  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
Also, pool pump motors aren't fed with a GFI breaker, but spa's are. Why is that? If I use a GFI breaker to feed the aquarium pump motors, not sure if thats required?
I'll post this in the code section too.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Re: Underground Aquarium Tank - Panel Install #62430
02/17/06 11:38 AM
02/17/06 11:38 AM
A
aldav53  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
The load on this aquarium wil have 1 - 18a heater, 1 - 18a chiller, (not used at the same time), a 10a pump, and 3 - 4amp motors for other stuff.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,643 Are you busy
186,380 Re: Forum
175,868 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 14 (0.007s) Memory: 0.9680 MB (Peak: 1.1077 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-20 10:42:31 UTC