ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (BigB), 19 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Wire Torque #6227 12/27/01 12:41 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
N
Nick Offline OP
Member
This question is really aimed at Don (Rescpt19) due to past posts on the subject but anyone with info please chime in!
I am starting a new job that had this requirement in the specifications.
Within 15 days prior to store turn over, re-torque all bolted wire connections in panels and switchboards, in compliance with applicable NEC requirements. Record date, connection location, and torque applied.
We’ll, the NEC doesn’t have any requirements to “re-torque” connections and according to Don it is a very bad practice. What I am wondering is if there is any published data on the consequences of re-torqueing wire connections and the effects it can cause. If I refuse to do this I will need some solid back up. Thanks.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Wire Torque #6228 12/27/01 02:21 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
I'm also interested in any ammo to help persuade...

It is common practice for the AHJ's around here to insist upon retorquing when an anti-oxidant has not been used (to apply said "noalox" or "penetrox"). I got a strange look when I asked if he made them cut and re-strip the wire to torque on "virgin" conductor... (sigh)

Lots of DYI work here and the AHJ is usually just happy to see line and load in the right places...

[Linked Image]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: Wire Torque #6229 12/27/01 07:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
Virgil,
"DYI" referring to "Do Yourself In"? [Linked Image]

Re: Wire Torque #6230 12/27/01 10:25 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
Nick,
I have been told it is a bad practice, but cannot find any published documents to back up what I think that I was told a number of years ago. Maybe I'm just wrong on this point.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Wire Torque #6231 12/27/01 12:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
Hee hee... Oooops Typo...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: Wire Torque #6232 12/27/01 02:49 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 176
W
WARREN1 Offline
Member
Nick
Ul Standard 486B, Table 1.3 through 1.6. These torque values are used when testing wire connectors, unless the manufacturer assigns another value appropriate for the design. These values are for guidance only if no tightening information is not available on the specific wire connector.
In your case, I think the requirment is written into the specifications so the values will be checked. You don't want to have a loose wire in a connector. Just set your torque wrench to the proper value, then check each one to insure they are all tight. If I were doing the project, I would only hand tighten each connection the first time through, then torque to the proper value on the second time around, noting the values for each one. Your obligation would then be properly fulfilled without overtorque on any connector.
We have this same statement in some of our specs, and I have never given it much thought until I read the thread on this BB. I will re-word my specs to account for this from now on.
Just a thought from the designer.

Re: Wire Torque #6233 12/27/01 06:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
"Do Yourself In" -- I like it!

As opposed to DIY which really means "Destroy It Yourself."

Re: Wire Torque #6234 12/27/01 08:24 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
N
Nick Offline OP
Member
Thanks guys, for the reply's. [Linked Image]

Re: Wire Torque #6235 12/27/01 09:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 280
M
motor-T Offline
Member
I have seen on meter bases especially, a torque spec for different size wire etc. Does anyone really use a torque-wrench ?

Re: Wire Torque #6236 12/30/01 04:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
ElectricAL Offline
Member
Yep.

Inspectors up here expect to see one out if they come on site while the meter socket connections are being made.


Al Hildenbrand
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,031 Are you busy
204,426 Re: Forum
192,639 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3