ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Split Bus Breaker Panel
by gfretwell - 01/25/21 12:35 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 01/24/21 04:35 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by Trumpy - 01/24/21 03:16 AM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 01/23/21 06:13 PM
Photo Editing Software?
by JoeTestingEngr - 01/23/21 12:47 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
power to a bussiness sign #61831 02/02/06 10:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
N
nov Offline OP
Member
I need to get power out to a pole sign in front of a bussiness. The sign and two parking lot lights were feed from an under ground pipe run that was crushed or broken years ago. Owner who is a friend of mine does not want to cut the concrete and have to patch it. I was think of going over head with triplex. It is only about 25-30 feet from the building. Would this be the way to go or sould I tell him that he has to cut the pavement. I have never done a I set up like this over head. If it was not a friend I would suggest someone else, I still may do that though.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: power to a bussiness sign #61832 02/03/06 12:22 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
R
Rich R Offline
Member
If he wants to spend the money you do a directional bore underground where the asphalt/pavement wouldn't be disturbed. Around here most companies that sub that type of work charge $10/foot or a $400 minimum. They even install a pull string for us in the pipe.

This is assuming you have some sort of grass or dirt area for them to bore to and from

[This message has been edited by Rich R (edited 02-03-2006).]

Re: power to a bussiness sign #61833 02/03/06 08:05 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
N
nov Offline OP
Member
no grass or dirt
concrete and pavement all the way

Re: power to a bussiness sign #61834 02/03/06 12:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 132
M
mhulbert Offline
Member
If he wants the ulginess of OH wires, you can do that. I've run a few OH spans, but they were all with the help of a lineman friend of mine. He had the tools, mainly the Klein cable grip, and a truck full of preforms, insulators, tree standoffs, etc. I ran pipe up to weather heads on both ends of the drops, and we used crimps as open air splices. Remember taht you shouldn't use the bare messenger cable as neutral, it will be your ground.

Re: power to a bussiness sign #61835 02/03/06 07:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 141
L
LoneGunman Offline
Member
I dont see what the big deal is about cutting and patching 25' of concrete. Ever see the little trenching shovels that are only like 2" wide? Thats what Id use. A 3" cut is not going to be hard to patch.

Re: power to a bussiness sign #61836 02/03/06 11:35 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
C
Clydesdale Offline
Member
rent a gas saw with concrete blade. zip 2 lines, chip out. then take large hilti hammer drill, and dig trench. done..
you already knew that though.

Re: power to a bussiness sign #61837 02/04/06 10:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 803
mxslick Offline
Member
Just wait 'till the first tall vehicle comes thru and snags the overhead, pulling down the drop and possibly the sign. [Linked Image]

C'mon, I've cut 30' plus to drop in pipe before, it's not a big deal. [Linked Image]

Some city sign ordinances may not allow an overhead feed anyway.


Stupid should be painful.

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 18
NORCAL 12
Popular Topics(Views)
274,154 Are you busy
207,958 Re: Forum
195,600 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3