ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,891 Are you busy
175,467 Re: Forum
167,743 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 27 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#61532 - 01/27/06 11:51 PM Rewire  
Lu5spark  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Pa
When rewiring and using existing box locactions, what do you do with the wire that is not in use anymore? I usually rip out what I can see. However most is buried and cannot be ripped out so what is an exceptable way to handle this situation?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#61533 - 01/28/06 03:07 AM Re: Rewire  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
A handfull of wire-nuts, If I'm feeling cheap, a wad of tape, but wire-nuts are quicker....


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#61534 - 01/28/06 03:08 AM Re: Rewire  
Sixer  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 265
Canada
I cut off what I can short enough that there would be no way for anyone to connect to the obsolete wiring again.


Sixer

"Will it be cheaper if I drill the holes for you?"

#61535 - 01/28/06 06:03 PM Re: Rewire  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
My opinion is to box off the old wire, tape or wire nut inside of the box might also be good. This way if someone ever does energize that old wire, it doesn't a hazard in the wall. I have seen where an old wire, somhow got energized and was sitting inside a wall for many years before it started a fire.


#61536 - 01/28/06 06:28 PM Re: Rewire  
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
It all depends, if its an existing cable that runs into an attic or basement or whatever that COULD be used in the future for some unforseen thing, then I will leave the conductors in the box and cap both ends, that is providing its NOT obsolete wiring such as K&T or romex with NO ground.... If its a useless cable ( goes nowhere, has no ground etc.) then I will cut it off short so it cant be used.



Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7676 MB (Peak: 0.9071 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-18 07:09:12 UTC