ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Our Company!
by faradaygroup. 12/15/18 09:23 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by wa2ise. 12/14/18 05:09 PM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 19 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Rewire #61532
01/27/06 10:51 PM
01/27/06 10:51 PM
L
Lu5spark  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Pa
When rewiring and using existing box locactions, what do you do with the wire that is not in use anymore? I usually rip out what I can see. However most is buried and cannot be ripped out so what is an exceptable way to handle this situation?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Rewire #61533
01/28/06 02:07 AM
01/28/06 02:07 AM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
A handfull of wire-nuts, If I'm feeling cheap, a wad of tape, but wire-nuts are quicker....


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: Rewire #61534
01/28/06 02:08 AM
01/28/06 02:08 AM
S
Sixer  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 265
Canada
I cut off what I can short enough that there would be no way for anyone to connect to the obsolete wiring again.


Sixer

"Will it be cheaper if I drill the holes for you?"
Re: Rewire #61535
01/28/06 05:03 PM
01/28/06 05:03 PM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
My opinion is to box off the old wire, tape or wire nut inside of the box might also be good. This way if someone ever does energize that old wire, it doesn't a hazard in the wall. I have seen where an old wire, somhow got energized and was sitting inside a wall for many years before it started a fire.

Re: Rewire #61536
01/28/06 05:28 PM
01/28/06 05:28 PM
R
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
It all depends, if its an existing cable that runs into an attic or basement or whatever that COULD be used in the future for some unforseen thing, then I will leave the conductors in the box and cap both ends, that is providing its NOT obsolete wiring such as K&T or romex with NO ground.... If its a useless cable ( goes nowhere, has no ground etc.) then I will cut it off short so it cant be used.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,050
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,237 Are you busy
189,201 Re: Forum
178,885 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 14 (0.012s) Memory: 0.9672 MB (Peak: 1.1062 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-16 11:15:34 UTC