ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
Board tester power supply?
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/13/18 12:14 AM
Voltage sag
by Trumpy. 10/12/18 06:59 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Trumpy. 10/12/18 06:50 PM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/10/18 08:47 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Tester question #61405
01/23/06 08:54 PM
01/23/06 08:54 PM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,034
Brick, NJ USA
Guys:

A multi-part quick question.....

Anyone use/have an AFCI Tester???

If so...mfg and model & rough $$$


AFCI's are not required here in NJ, but, one job has them within spec, and I have the inspections upcoming soon

Thanks,

John


John
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Tester question #61406
01/23/06 08:58 PM
01/23/06 08:58 PM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
John according to UL there is no such thing as an AFCI tester, only AFCI indicators.

Some of these indicators will not trip certain brands of AFCIs.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Tester question #61407
01/23/06 09:00 PM
01/23/06 09:00 PM
C
Celtic  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
NJ
How can you put them in when they haven't been accepted by the State?


~~ CELTIC ~~
...-= NJ =-...
Re: Tester question #61408
01/24/06 12:24 AM
01/24/06 12:24 AM
T
Tiger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
Crystal Lake, IL USA
Although I have an Ideal tester with a button for AFCIs my understanding is that UL tests and approves them only by pushing the test button on the breaker.

Dave

Re: Tester question #61409
01/24/06 02:02 AM
01/24/06 02:02 AM
O
OreElect  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 98
Salem,Oregon.USA

Re: Tester question #61410
01/24/06 06:38 PM
01/24/06 06:38 PM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,034
Brick, NJ USA
Celtic:
They are within the 'specs' for a hotel job in town.
As to NJ, they are not 'required' within the adopted NEC, but they can be installed.

John


John
Re: Tester question #61411
01/24/06 06:41 PM
01/24/06 06:41 PM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,034
Brick, NJ USA
OreElect:
Thanks for the link, it's printing now.
I'll give it to the director AM to have a PO cut.

John


John
Re: Tester question #61412
01/24/06 06:46 PM
01/24/06 06:46 PM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,034
Brick, NJ USA
Bob:
Thanks for the input. I have a info request into Siemens, and the job EC is hunting also.

Tiger:
Your tester is probably the one in the link provided by OreElect???

Celtic's query regards NJ not adopting the AFCI requirements within '02 & '05 NEC, but I have to inspect based on spec also. This is the 1st AFCI job I have encountered.

John

Thanks guys.


John
Re: Tester question #61413
01/24/06 06:51 PM
01/24/06 06:51 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Celtic,

We are in New Jersey, and have been installing AFCIs when ever the customer or spec, called for them, we had a few hours of discussion, on this subject at our last CEU class.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,274
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,267 Are you busy
187,917 Re: Forum
177,448 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.029s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0017 MB (Peak: 1.1691 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-16 00:11:46 UTC