ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 5
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,856 Are you busy
175,412 Re: Forum
167,704 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#61405 - 01/23/06 08:54 PM Tester question  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Guys:

A multi-part quick question.....

Anyone use/have an AFCI Tester???

If so...mfg and model & rough $$$


AFCI's are not required here in NJ, but, one job has them within spec, and I have the inspections upcoming soon

Thanks,

John


John

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#61406 - 01/23/06 08:58 PM Re: Tester question  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
John according to UL there is no such thing as an AFCI tester, only AFCI indicators.

Some of these indicators will not trip certain brands of AFCIs.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#61407 - 01/23/06 09:00 PM Re: Tester question  
Celtic  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
NJ
How can you put them in when they haven't been accepted by the State?


~~ CELTIC ~~
...-= NJ =-...

#61408 - 01/24/06 12:24 AM Re: Tester question  
Tiger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
Crystal Lake, IL USA
Although I have an Ideal tester with a button for AFCIs my understanding is that UL tests and approves them only by pushing the test button on the breaker.

Dave


#61409 - 01/24/06 02:02 AM Re: Tester question  
OreElect  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 98
Salem,Oregon.USA


#61410 - 01/24/06 06:38 PM Re: Tester question  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Celtic:
They are within the 'specs' for a hotel job in town.
As to NJ, they are not 'required' within the adopted NEC, but they can be installed.

John


John

#61411 - 01/24/06 06:41 PM Re: Tester question  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
OreElect:
Thanks for the link, it's printing now.
I'll give it to the director AM to have a PO cut.

John


John

#61412 - 01/24/06 06:46 PM Re: Tester question  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Bob:
Thanks for the input. I have a info request into Siemens, and the job EC is hunting also.

Tiger:
Your tester is probably the one in the link provided by OreElect???

Celtic's query regards NJ not adopting the AFCI requirements within '02 & '05 NEC, but I have to inspect based on spec also. This is the 1st AFCI job I have encountered.

John

Thanks guys.


John

#61413 - 01/24/06 06:51 PM Re: Tester question  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Celtic,

We are in New Jersey, and have been installing AFCIs when ever the customer or spec, called for them, we had a few hours of discussion, on this subject at our last CEU class.



Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8014 MB (Peak: 0.9705 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-16 17:16:44 UTC