ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/17/17 09:50 AM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,343 Are you busy
177,294 Re: Forum
168,924 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 68 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#61140 - 01/17/06 05:14 PM 400A Disconnect ahead of CT  
NJ_WVUGrad  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Neptune, NJ, USA
Installing a 400A CT which is tapped out of a Trough feeding 3 other services (wireless telecom site - each carrier has a trailer).
The trough is fed UG from a pole mounted transformer.

PoCo (JCPL in North NJ) is requiring a 400A disconnect ahead of the CT cabinet so they can work on CT's without shutting off service to the whole site.

I explained that the other services all have 8hr of battery backup (which is true) and shutdown would not effect them. Yet they still insist on the 400A Non-Fused Disc.

It burns me because its not outlined in their Electrical Service Manual and the fact that it is being installed for their convenience. I assume they will be sealing it themselves to prevent tapping unmetered.

Has anyone run into this or similar?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#61141 - 01/17/06 06:06 PM Re: 400A Disconnect ahead of CT  
shortcircuit  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 608
massachusetts
Cold sequence for a CT cabinet is required by my local POCO also. They want the option to kill the power for servicing...

shortcircuit


#61142 - 01/17/06 06:52 PM Re: 400A Disconnect ahead of CT  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
NJ:
JCP&L & PSE&G require cold sequence in 'certain' installs. It's always a "GOOD POLICY" to speak to the wiring inspector/field engineer before you do any job.

Yes, they have requirements for the 'main' enclosure to be sealable, as it is ahead of the meter, and can be considered 'access' to unmetered power.

John


John


Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7526 MB (Peak: 0.8754 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-17 20:45:40 UTC