ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by geoff in UK. 05/23/18 01:18 PM
Opinions Please
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:22 AM
Quickbooks
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:19 AM
Accounting
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:16 AM
Don't you buy this stuff
by gfretwell. 05/23/18 01:41 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 37 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61114
01/17/06 02:31 PM
01/17/06 02:31 PM
W
wendel  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
Rather than a copper-clad steel rod, is it acceptable to use an 8 foot piece of 3/4" copper pipe (driven into the ground) as a ground rod? Is there a requirement that the grounding rod be solid or is that to make it easier to hammer it into the ground?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61115
01/17/06 02:39 PM
01/17/06 02:39 PM
W
Wizzie Electric  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 69
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, Can...
Thats a good question I would say yes because it would be the same as using the water supply as a GE. but some one will probably prove me wrong.


Thanks.
Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61116
01/17/06 02:44 PM
01/17/06 02:44 PM
G
Geno  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 16
Syracuse, NY USA
It would probably have to be listed for the purpose

Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61117
01/17/06 02:46 PM
01/17/06 02:46 PM
W
Wizzie Electric  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 69
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, Can...
see what did i tell you. lol
geno, makes a good point. it would have to be listed for that purpose.

[This message has been edited by Wizzie Electric (edited 01-17-2006).]


Thanks.
Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61118
01/17/06 04:11 PM
01/17/06 04:11 PM
A
Ann Brush  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 152
Ohia
Two words: "Not listed". However......

Stick an old gate valve and solder a copper 90 on to the end of it so that it technically becomes part of the water supply system and VIOLA, its acceptable.

See we all thought plumbers were out there to make life difficult, and as it turns out [Linked Image]

Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61119
01/17/06 04:57 PM
01/17/06 04:57 PM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Look at 250.52(A)(5). There is no requirement that a pipe used as a grounding electrode be a listed product.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61120
01/17/06 05:21 PM
01/17/06 05:21 PM
W
wendel  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
The only physical requirement for a copper ground rod I can think of is that the volume of copper per inch in the grounding electrode be equal to or greater than the volume of copper per inch in the connecting/bonding wire. Otherwise a surge current could generate enough heat to melt the electrode while the connecting wire was still intact. Unlikely, but we're talking hypothetical extremes to help understand the right way to do things.

Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61121
01/17/06 05:40 PM
01/17/06 05:40 PM
G
GETELECTRIC  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 172
toronto canada
I would be worried about corrosion as the intent of the copper pipe was not to be buried.

Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61122
01/17/06 05:58 PM
01/17/06 05:58 PM
Alan Belson  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mayenne N. France
If youre going to pretend it's plumbing (by nailing an old gate valve on top), it needs:-
a] to be at least 10 feet long.
b] an additional earth driven rod too!- see 250.53(D)(2)

Alan


Wood work but can't!
Re: 3/4" Copper Pipe Driven 8' as Ground Rod? #61123
01/17/06 08:24 PM
01/17/06 08:24 PM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
wendel,
Quote
The only physical requirement for a copper ground rod I can think of is that the volume of copper per inch in the grounding electrode be equal to or greater than the volume of copper per inch in the connecting/bonding wire.

The code does not contain any such requirement. 250.52(A)(5) permits the use of any metal pipe at least 8' long and with a minimum size of 3/4" to be used as a grounding electrode.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,882 Are you busy
184,227 Re: Forum
173,461 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.031s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0231 MB (Peak: 1.1987 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-23 20:44:39 UTC