ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by Trumpy. 12/06/18 02:12 AM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by rmiell. 11/30/18 01:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
15 amp recepticals #60604
01/06/06 07:06 PM
01/06/06 07:06 PM
V
vlad_tepish  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Delavan,Wis,USA
the project I am working at is in dekalb county ill,,the question is,,we are not allowed to use 20 amp recepticals ,even on a 20 amp cercut>what is the logic behind this?


Patrick
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 15 amp recepticals #60605
01/06/06 07:27 PM
01/06/06 07:27 PM
R
Ron  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 582
White Plains, NY
On a 15A circuit, you cannot use 20A receptacles, as it is a code violation.
On a 20A circuit with more than one receptacle, you can use 15A receptacles and save money over buying 20A receptacles if you like (or the engineer's specification require).
So it may be just financial.


Ron
Re: 15 amp recepticals #60606
01/06/06 07:46 PM
01/06/06 07:46 PM
Radar  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 349
Los Angeles, CA
Using 20 amp receptacles is generally allowed per code pretty much anywhere else, so I don't think it's an NEC issue. Could it be that someone at the local jurisdiction is trying to enforce something that he/she is mistaken about?

Radar


There are 10 types of people. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Re: 15 amp recepticals #60607
01/06/06 11:22 PM
01/06/06 11:22 PM
I
InspectorE  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 51
Hudson WI USA
My suspicion is that the AHJ is trying to make sure a full 20 amp load isn't plugged into a single outlet, i.e. 80% maximum loading allowed on a 20 amp outlet is 16 amps (unless all components are rated to operate at 100%).

To be honest, I don't think I've ever seen an electrical product with a true 20 amp connector.

Re: 15 amp recepticals #60608
01/06/06 11:49 PM
01/06/06 11:49 PM
S
SvenNYC  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,691
New York City
Quote
To be honest, I don't think I've ever seen an electrical product with a true 20 amp connector.


They're usually on high-powered 110 volt domestic air conditioners. That's where I've seen NEMA 5-20 plugs.

Of course those are usually plugged into dedicated 20 amp circuits.

Re: 15 amp recepticals #60609
01/07/06 12:07 AM
01/07/06 12:07 AM
Radar  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 349
Los Angeles, CA
Bingo.

Maybe that right there is their problem. If the receptacles are 20 amp rated, then 2 of them would/could draw 40 amps, 3 would/could be 60 amps, etc. Ya never know.


There are 10 types of people. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Re: 15 amp recepticals #60610
01/07/06 01:21 AM
01/07/06 01:21 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,323
Estero,Fl,usa
Radar that is not really an issue. Anyone could plug 2 1440w heaters into a 5-15 duplex. That's why we have 240.4(D)

[This message has been edited by gfretwell (edited 01-07-2006).]


Greg Fretwell
Re: 15 amp recepticals #60611
01/07/06 10:36 AM
01/07/06 10:36 AM
Radar  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 349
Los Angeles, CA
True enough - that wasn't really a serious comment. Besides, I'm trying to figure why a jurisdiction would not allow 20 amp receptacles on a 20 amp circuit. Seems to me like a similar bit of short sighted reasoning is the most likely answer.


There are 10 types of people. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Re: 15 amp recepticals #60612
01/07/06 10:50 AM
01/07/06 10:50 AM
I
InspectorE  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 51
Hudson WI USA
If ya' got 20 amp wire and 20 amp breaker, why not a 20 amp receptacle?

Sounds like a waste of money to put the 20 amp stuff in if you're going to slow it down with a smaller receptacle.

Re: 15 amp recepticals #60613
01/07/06 06:12 PM
01/07/06 06:12 PM
U
u2slow  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
Following the 80% circuit loading direction...

Perhaps the intent is get #10 wire and a 25A CB behind the 20A receptacle?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 68
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,174 Are you busy
189,164 Re: Forum
178,837 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0244 MB (Peak: 1.2020 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-13 01:44:52 UTC