ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by gfretwell. 08/22/17 07:04 PM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,121 Are you busy
175,735 Re: Forum
167,942 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 53 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#59839 - 12/15/05 11:04 PM 3way Pilot Light Switch  
Haligan  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Berkeley, CA USA
It's a 3-way pilot light with the load at start of run.

The pilot light itself is wired parallel with the load so at the pilot light side there needs to be- 2 travelers + 1 common + 1 neutral. = 4 conductors. What should we pull to that location? It's residential. 12/3 plus one 12/2 and just cap one conductor off?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#59840 - 12/15/05 11:35 PM Re: 3way Pilot Light Switch  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 785
Chicago, Il.
It has been years since I wired romex in Pa. but I'm picturing a box with a pilot lamp and a 3-way. A 12-2 is coming from my feeder, a 12-2 to the load, and a 12-3 to the other 3-way. I would put black electrical tape on both ends of the white in the 12-3 and that would cover the pole and 2 travelers to the 2nd 3-way, which would come back to the 2 travelers of the 1st 3-way, and the black from the feeder. The pole from the first 3-way goes to the black to the load and the pilot hot. The feeder white and load white get pig-tailed to the pilot neutral and we're done. I guess you just have to figure out your box fill with the devices. Sounds like a deep box. Is that what you have in mind?
Joe


#59841 - 12/15/05 11:38 PM Re: 3way Pilot Light Switch  
techie  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 246
palo alto, ca usa
How about some 12/4 or 14/4?
http://appprod.mysouthwire.com/ProductCatalog/XTEInterfaceServlet?contentKey=prodcatsheet6

[This message has been edited by techie (edited 12-15-2005).]


#59842 - 12/16/05 06:48 AM Re: 3way Pilot Light Switch  
Haligan  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Berkeley, CA USA
It's definitely going to need a new box. This is old work. Next step is to decide whether to drill down from attic (longer run) or drill up from basement. Since I just finished reading the thread about guys drilling up through hardwood floors, I think I might fish down from the attic. It's not summer, so that's something.

Hey I like that 12/4 14/4. Especially since you don't have to buy a 3 mile long spool of it.


#59843 - 12/16/05 07:19 AM Re: 3way Pilot Light Switch  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,260
Fullerton, CA USA
There's no law against flex.



Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7685 MB (Peak: 0.9090 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 08:20:34 UTC