ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by gfretwell. 08/22/17 07:04 PM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,107 Are you busy
175,723 Re: Forum
167,935 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 56 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#59656 - 12/12/05 08:42 PM 3 wire for new construction?  
NJ Wireman  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
New Jersey (South Jersey)
I was told that for the new 2005 code that (NM) romex for applainaces ie; water heater, ac disconnect, dryer must now be in 3 wire. Is this true and if so can some one please state a code # reference. I am racking my head trying to find this but have been unable.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#59657 - 12/12/05 08:50 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
There is no such NEC requirement, a 2 conductor with ground is all that is needed

Roger


#59658 - 12/12/05 08:52 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
You can not feed a 240/120 dryer with a 3 wire.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#59659 - 12/12/05 09:01 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
One must ask the question right, to get the answer right :-)

At one time- not so long ago- it was the practice to "ground" the case of a range or clothes dryer by bonding it to the third wire- which also served as the "neutral" for any 110 loads the appliance might have had.

This is no longer allowed on NEW dryers and ranges, nor is it allowed to run NEW circuits this way. Section 250.140 is the place to start reading...

So, today, we no longer bond the case to the "neutral" wire. We run an additional wire to serve as the ground wire.

If an appliance has no 110v loads, then the third prong of the plug is a true "ground" prong.


#59660 - 12/12/05 09:12 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
NJ Wireman  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
New Jersey (South Jersey)
so renosteinke
then would you or wouldn't you use 3 wire?

i have done several ovens micro/convection over the last year where they came with a set up of a black , a red, a neutral and a ground? for a 220 set up 30 amp and man i must say i love this place that was quick 3 responces in no time. Gotta love it thanks kenny


#59661 - 12/12/05 09:20 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Whoa, I only (stopped reading at) read "water heater and ac disconnect", shame on me. [Linked Image]

Iwire and John are correct, on 120/240v appliances, a three insulated conductor with equipment grounding conductor wiring method must be used.


Roger


#59662 - 12/12/05 09:36 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
NJ Wireman  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
New Jersey (South Jersey)
but john says yes and i wire says no?


#59663 - 12/12/05 10:05 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
Electricmanscott  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
Holden, MA USA
Two hots, one neutral and one ground (very untechnical I know) require two hots, one neutral and one ground feeding it.


#59664 - 12/12/05 10:08 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
NJ Wireman, actually I think John and Iwire are saying the same thing,

Iwire said
Quote
You can not feed a 240/120 dryer with a 3 wire.


I think Iwire means there must be four conductors

John said
Quote
So, today, we no longer bond the case to the "neutral" wire. We run an additional wire to serve as the ground wire.


Roger



[This message has been edited by Roger (edited 12-12-2005).]


#59665 - 12/12/05 10:58 PM Re: 3 wire for new construction?  
NJ Wireman  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
New Jersey (South Jersey)
I see i thought when he said three wire, i mis understood. I thank all for their help.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Theelectrikid
Theelectrikid
Levittown, PA
Posts: 810
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8175 MB (Peak: 0.9928 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 04:22:41 UTC