ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 3
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,933 Are you busy
175,513 Re: Forum
167,781 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 53 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#58059 - 10/27/05 10:47 PM hot tub  
RichardTatem  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
quincy,ma,02169
I wired a hot tub, the gfi 50 amp breaker keeps on tripping up when I turn the power on. Could this be a problem be inside the hot tub, or a faulty gfi breaker? Thanks for your help


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#58060 - 10/27/05 11:25 PM Re: hot tub  
Tripp  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 99
My first instinct is to make sure you wired the breaker correctly, i.e., the coiled white wire attached to the GFI breaker gets landed on the neutral bus, while the grounded (white) that goes to the tub gets landed on the breaker itself. No intention to insult your intelligence here; it's just that i did this once myself when i wasn't paying attention. [Linked Image]


#58061 - 10/28/05 12:06 AM Re: hot tub  
lamplighter  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 101
Clawson,Michigan,USA
Does the breaker only trip under load?
If It trips whether or not the tub is running, disconnect the load from it and see if it holds. If not it's your breaker, if it does hold, without a load, next place to check is the tub.


#58062 - 10/29/05 02:45 PM Re: hot tub  
acetoday  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Manassas, Va
You may want to call the manufacturer of the hot tub. I ran into the same issue one other time and if memory serves me right I had to use a GFCI disconnect provided by the manufacture. It had something to do with the way the neutral was tied in.

Hope this helps....



Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 95
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7594 MB (Peak: 0.8899 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 09:24:29 UTC