ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Flexible metallic conduit for grounding purposes?? #5696
12/02/01 12:18 AM
12/02/01 12:18 AM
D
duanet  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 5
Is it an accepted standard to use flexible metallic conduit (in a two wire single phase branch circuit -no separate ground wire-)Is it o.k. to use the flex as ground? Or does it have to be EMT? I am tying in some older (2 wire-hot/common EMT as ground)) Circuits to a new load center and wish to no if this is proper by NEC standards. i want to use flex for the new offsets the circuits have to make.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Flexible metallic conduit for grounding purposes?? #5697
12/02/01 12:01 PM
12/02/01 12:01 PM
N
Nick  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
Riverside, CA
Is it an accepted standard? In my experience, no. Is it NEC compliant? Yes, provided the ground fault return path is 6ft or less and the fittings and flex you use are listed for grounding. Note that the 6ft. or less is for the entire run of the circuit. For example, you cannot run a piece of conduit with a 6ft flex whip into the panel on one end and a 6ft. whip to a fixture on the other end. That would be a fault return of 12ft. I think most here will agree either keep the run in EMT or pull an equipment grounding conductor.

Re: Flexible metallic conduit for grounding purposes?? #5698
12/08/01 12:30 AM
12/08/01 12:30 AM
S
Steve T  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 306
Oak Park, IL, USA
Nick,

Flexible metal conduit not listed for grounding can be used as a ground provided it is less than 6 feet and the fittings are listed for grounding and the circuits are protected at 20 amps or less and it is not installed for flexibility.

Flexible metal conduit listed for grounding can be any length provided the fittings are also listed for grounding.

By the way, has anyone seen how much the UL description of flex fittings listed for grounding and flex fittings not listed for grounding has changed from the 1999 book to the 2000 book? It is quite significant. There appears to be no special determination for steel vs. aluminum using set screw type connectors in the 2000 book like there was in the 1999 book.

Re: Flexible metallic conduit for grounding purposes?? #5699
12/08/01 09:57 PM
12/08/01 09:57 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,275
Fullerton, CA USA
Can you provide us with some of the manufacturers that have this listed combination sans ground wire??

I'd like to use them! [Linked Image]

Re: Flexible metallic conduit for grounding purposes?? #5700
12/11/01 07:30 PM
12/11/01 07:30 PM
S
Steve T  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 306
Oak Park, IL, USA
electure

I'm not sure I understand what you are looking for. Listed flexible metal conduit?


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,414 Are you busy
188,637 Re: Forum
178,341 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.029s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9689 MB (Peak: 1.1092 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-13 22:45:40 UTC