ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by crselectric. 12/08/18 10:11 PM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by Trumpy. 12/06/18 02:12 AM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by rmiell. 11/30/18 01:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (JoeKP), 7 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56268
09/17/05 03:26 PM
09/17/05 03:26 PM
A
aldav53  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
Moving an existing 200 amp all-in-one panel with an overhead drop on a home. Moving from the back of the house to the side. Can I add a meter box with a 200 amp main feeder breaker to the side of the house and feed it to the existing panel? (would then become a sub-panel). Is there a blank cover for the existing meter being it won't be there anymore? Where would I tap the feeder wire on the now sub-panel? to the lugs the power company uses? which would go through another 200 amp breaker in the panel. Guess I'd have to since there are no lugs in the panel. (Gotta be a better way)
Or I could turn the existing panel into a junction box and splice and feed all the circuits over to the side where a new all-in-one panel would be.
(We use all-in one panels in AZ with the meter built into the same box with the breakers mounted outdoors. I know they don't use them back east).


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56269
09/17/05 06:30 PM
09/17/05 06:30 PM
M
Mark B  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 2
Spiocewood ,Tx.
Build new service with 200A feedthrough panel, and subfeed old panel. if they are going to build on back of house ghange to indoor panel


Do it Right One Time
Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56270
09/17/05 07:11 PM
09/17/05 07:11 PM
A
aldav53  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
So your saying move the overhead drop with the meter on the side of the house and feed it to the old main panel (new sub-panel now). What about tapping the lugs where the old meter was, which is built into the whole panel. (all-in-one). Need a blank cover where the meter was. Never have seen this done before, but that was my first idea too.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56271
09/17/05 07:41 PM
09/17/05 07:41 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
First of all, and no disrespect intended, by the range of your questions I fear this task my be better performed by a licensed contractor who usually does this sort of thing.

There is a limit to the amount of 'rigging' you can do...before long, you're spending $100 to save $1- and it shows.

Relocating the service drop requires you comply with the local PoCo rules. They're usually pretty fussy as to where the drop will be. Either go to their office for a "cut sheet," or you might find it on the web.

Blank covers do exist, but are intended for temporary use. There is then the matter of the meter ring, and jumpering the meter socket. I really don't like the idea of either- especially since the blank covers usually set in the meter jaws- making a jumper impossible.

Assuming the PoCo approves your plan, the only real option is to replace everything. Using the old panel as a "junction box" has certainly been done before, but with the distance you wish to move the box, you might as well do some re-wiring inside the house.

Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56272
09/17/05 07:44 PM
09/17/05 07:44 PM
S
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
Seems to me you're going to need to run a new riser cable from your new outside main disconnect to yur existing panel thats going to become a sub panel. I believe you're also going to have update all of your grounding and bonding, including running all them back the main disco.

Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56273
09/17/05 07:48 PM
09/17/05 07:48 PM
N
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 882
With a "all in one" panel neutral is most likly permenently bonded to box and panel is labeled "Suitable only for use as service equipment", if that is the case how would one get around that with out voiding listing?

Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56274
09/18/05 11:10 AM
09/18/05 11:10 AM
A
A-Line  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 272
Utah, USA
Here in Utah the power company requires that the meter be located within 10ft. of the front of the house. I've seen cases where the meter/main was not located within this 10ft. The power company required the installation of a pedistal mounted meter out front next to the transformer or J-box.
This fed the other existing meter/main. They had a cover that clipped into the spot where the meter was located and it provided the connection at the old meter location.
I believe the power company supplied this cover along with the meter. I have never done one so I'm not sure. I have seen several of them around though.
My brother had one on his previous residence. A bay window and gas meter made it so that he had no choice but to have the meter/main located 15ft. from the front. The power company would not connect his power until he added a pedistal meter out front next to the transformer.

[This message has been edited by A-Line (edited 09-18-2005).]

[This message has been edited by A-Line (edited 09-18-2005).]

Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56275
09/18/05 11:18 AM
09/18/05 11:18 AM
A
A-Line  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 272
Utah, USA
Check with the power company and your local inspector. Here the power company has a booklet on all of their requirements that must be met before they will connect power.
I'm going to a seminar next week where they are going to discuss their latest requirments.

Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56276
09/18/05 11:49 AM
09/18/05 11:49 AM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Norcal has a very good point, with the neutral bond in the existing (sounds like meter/main w/dist. combo) panel, it would make the idea of re-feeding it a NO-NO. As often the neutral is directly mounted to the can. If it saving a buck or two thats in mind, re-use the panel in the new location, or re-use the breakers in a panel of the same brand. And put a nema3 J-box at the old location, and feed your circuits from the new location. Or, start over with a new MM combo, and new sub inside or out.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: Service Panel Move on Home - options? #56277
09/18/05 12:11 PM
09/18/05 12:11 PM
A
aldav53  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
renosteinke, I am a licenced contractor, but this is an odd situation I've not come across. I will check with the PoCo and the city to see what I can do.
I think changing the main panel to a junction box and splicing the circuits to the new all-in-one on the side of the house might be the only way to go.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,149
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,115 Are you busy
189,131 Re: Forum
178,797 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0266 MB (Peak: 1.2018 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-09 23:53:27 UTC