ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
FPE in Germany
by NORCAL - 10/16/19 08:24 AM
Help with aging employee advice.
by Bill Addiss - 10/15/19 10:58 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by gfretwell - 10/13/19 03:23 PM
Power factor and transformer efficiency
by TeslaEdison - 10/13/19 04:05 AM
Permit Snafus...AHJs and Contractors Jump in
by HotLine1 - 10/10/19 07:35 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 1 guest and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54478 07/29/05 08:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
J
Joey D Offline OP
Member
I was asked this today due to a wrong spec on a job. The shade company required a 12-2 romex at each window shade location for power, so I did it. I went there today to start the install and reading the shade info it needs a 12-3 romex to work. The shade guy wants to use the ground conductor as a neutral and I told him no way no how. I am just thinking now though what is the real reason behind this. Safty because no ground? The current on the neutral now is not insulated on it's return trip?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54479 07/29/05 08:15 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
"Safty because no ground? The current on the neutral now is not insulated on it's return trip?"

YES
And
YES (Could also cause ground / neutral contact in a metalic box - after the main.)


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54480 07/29/05 08:19 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Oh, been in this situation before...

If its you fault... Look into romote control ones, cheaper than re-finish sometimes.

Not your fault, T&M C/O!


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54481 07/29/05 08:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,121
HotLine1 Offline
Member
OK, the bare conductor will be carrying the current as you said, and basically be "live" to a grounded object, box, etc; or a person.

YES it is a saftey issue, yes, it is NOT NEC compliant, and yes you are 100% right saying 'no way'.

I have seen instances where EMT was used as the 'neutral' for a 30 amp, 120 volt circuit that consisted of ONE 'hot' conductor. Yes, it worked, but the setscrew couplings were not tightened properly and started arcing. It almost caused a fire, as the EMT was installed on a wall that had clothing racks mounted on it.

Some of the 'old timers' used to say "gyp the ground" when you had a 'open' neutral to restore the circuit; heck I saw BX armour that was 'live' arcing on suspended ceiling grid.

You're right; illegal, unsafe, and not to be done.

John


John
Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54482 07/29/05 09:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
S
ShockMe77 Offline
Member
Oh, what the heck, as long as it works, right?

*rollseyes

What "electrician" walks away from a job thinking it's ok to use EMT as the grounded conductor?

Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54483 07/29/05 10:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 265
D
dmattox Offline
Member
Er, misread something

[This message has been edited by dmattox (edited 07-29-2005).]

Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54484 07/30/05 06:32 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
J
Joey D Offline OP
Member
I know not to do it and will get paid to fix it. The shade system is part of a larger system that is all tied together for controlling lighting, video and sound systems so doing anything but snaking in new cables will not work.

Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54485 07/30/05 06:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Quote
I know not to do it and will get paid to fix it.


Good choice. [Linked Image]

Do not listen to "The Shade Guy" he is not NEC trained and he is not on the hook if the electrical portion of the shades causes a problem.

Would you tell him how to hang drapes?


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54486 07/30/05 06:55 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Joe Tedesco Offline
Member
Because, 334.108 Equipment Grounding.

In addition to the insulated conductors, the cable shall have an insulated or bare conductor for equipment grounding purposes only.


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Re: why not use the ground in a romex as a neutral? #54487 07/30/05 06:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
J
Joey D Offline OP
Member
Thanks guys. I know not to do it just wanted to make sure I was right in my reasons, besides the code.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
259,560 Are you busy
194,963 Re: Forum
184,384 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3