ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 407 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
I
I work as an electronic engineering technitian (fancy name for a tech?) and I work with engineers quite often on equipment and in the field. They do quite a lot of hands on around here. I don't have experience with too many companies but where I work they spend alot of time on the production floor and out in the field. Like renosteinke said: Hows your secucity clearace? or do you think you can get one? I work on defense contracts and I can say it is really cutting edge stuff. Because it's prototype stuff, the engineers are very hands on.

[This message has been edited by IanR (edited 07-11-2005).]

R
Ron Offline
When you look for a Job, be sure that you get desk time and field time. Most EE's that I work with (including myself), spend at least one day a week if not more at project sites. We call it construction administration, but it is mostly working elbow to elbow with the EC's Foreman working out coordination issues and product application. It's also great to attend site integrated commisioning acceptance. It helps make that project work smoother, and is great learning for the next project. Of course you would do this field task with a senior engineer for the first year or so, until you get the hang of it.

Ron
G
PE,