ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
I am an electrical engineering student (as mentioned in all of my posts), and well, I don't wanna be the electrical engineer that sits at a computer all day designing a piece of crap that will end up on an infomercial... I actually like electrical WORK, but due to physical complications, i could not pull wire through conduit all day crawl through attics, etc. Are there any jobs where one could be an engineer and technician at the same time? Please forgive my ignorance on the topic, but i figured it's better to ask a stupid question than to ot know the stupid answer.

M
There are "field engineers" in all the different areas of engineering. These are the guys who go out and solve the technically complex problems that come up.

But, most engineers aren't made for it. A guy who's great at math and physics, who can spend hours a day reading texts on numerical analysis and electron tunneling usually just isn't the same guy that can look at a real-world problem and solve it.

We need both types of people, but rarely find them in the same place.

If this is what you want to do, find a co-op program or at least summer internships that will get you out in the field while you're still in school.

Cat Servant