ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Fuse blower plug?
by SPSchuman. 07/20/19 05:02 PM
Baseboard Mounted Light Bulb Socket
by SPSchuman. 07/15/19 03:22 PM
Hunter Fan Recalls Brunswick 3 & 4 Light Fans
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:08 AM
Honeywell Recalls some Smoke Sensors
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 37 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Drum Copiers #53519
06/27/05 10:38 PM
06/27/05 10:38 PM
B
BigB  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 742
Tucson, AZ USA
I hope someone with knowledge about drum type copy machines can respond. The unit in question states on the nameplate, Amps: 10 max. Problem is the breaker trips when the machine is on but not in use. A monitor revealed that every so often the machine would spike up to twenty amps while idle. I theorize this is the machine keeping itself warmed up while on standby. Is this a normal feature of a drum copier? (The 20 amps must be inrush. There is also a refigerator, cofee maker and computer on the 15 amp circuit, so I know it's overloaded, but I want to confirm the copier is acting normally. I have already contracted to run a new 20 amp circuit to the copier.
Thanks, Brian

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Drum Copiers #53520
06/27/05 11:08 PM
06/27/05 11:08 PM
D
dmattox  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 265
Anaheim, CA
I dont know if the spike you see is normal, but everytime I install a copier, the copier company requires a dedicated 20A circuit.

Re: Drum Copiers #53521
06/27/05 11:39 PM
06/27/05 11:39 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,373
Estero,Fl,usa
These things have halogen bulbs in them to heat the fuser and they do have a big inrush.
I think you did answer your own question with the fridge and coffee pot on the same circuit tho. Does it ever trip at night when the coffee pot is off?


Greg Fretwell
Re: Drum Copiers #53522
06/27/05 11:53 PM
06/27/05 11:53 PM
B
BigB  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 742
Tucson, AZ USA
Yes as I said I know the circuit is overloaded and I know what needs to be done, but I wanted to confirm the copier is acting as it should. I don't want to sell them a new circuit only to have it blow the new breaker, then they will think I sold them a job they didn't need. I thought about the coffee machine but they said they never use the warmers and the machine is off fairly early in the day and the breaker still trips. It's probably the big side by side fridge along with the copier.

Re: Drum Copiers #53523
06/28/05 12:05 AM
06/28/05 12:05 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,373
Estero,Fl,usa
You could temporarily move the copier or fridge to another circuit with a fat commercial extension cord. If there is some kind of short in the copier it should still trip. I would expect the copier to have some internal supplimental O/C protection which would open with a short tho.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Drum Copiers #53524
06/28/05 07:06 AM
06/28/05 07:06 AM
I
IanR  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 328
Palm Bay FL USA
Being that those big side by side fridges typically draw between 9 to 10 amps I'd say that the circuit is just overloaded. Additionally, those fridges have induction motors so there is also a signifigant inrush current there too.

Re: Drum Copiers #53525
06/28/05 08:23 AM
06/28/05 08:23 AM
N
NJwirenut  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
Bergen County, NJ
Yes, that type of cyclic current draw is a standard feature of most older copiers and laser printers.

The culprit isn't the copy drum, but the fuser assembly. This is a teflon-coated roller that is kept heated by a large quartz-halogen lamp, and used to seal the toner image onto the paper. The lamp is cycled on and off as needed to keep the fuser hot. The lamp can be up to 1000W in size, so it draws a substantial amount of power, which can cause problems for other equipment on the circuit.

Copiers really need a dedicated circuit.

Re: Drum Copiers #53526
06/28/05 08:39 AM
06/28/05 08:39 AM
G
George  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 375
While I agree that another circuit will solve the problem ...

I think the copier may also have a problem. The spike should be near the nameplate amps.

Re: Drum Copiers #53527
06/28/05 09:04 AM
06/28/05 09:04 AM
G
growler  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 65
Marietta, Ga. 30060
BigB, The first rule of trouble-shooting. Solve the problems that you know about. You know that the circuit is overloaded. You know that a coppier requires a 20 amp. dedicated circuit. You install said 20 Amp. circuit and that is where your responsibilities as an electrician end. If they still have problems it's time to call a repairman. I worked on those machines when I was young and I can tell you without the proper manuals and training that if you attempt to correct problems with the equipment that you will do more harm than good. Those machines require peroidic maintenance anyway.

Re: Drum Copiers #53528
06/28/05 05:37 PM
06/28/05 05:37 PM
richard  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 99
L.I. New York
you could have a bad breaker, in addition to the prior mention of a need for a dedicated circuit.after tripping and resetting numerious times, they will trip with a small inrush

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
UTEE87 1
Popular Topics(Views)
257,168 Are you busy
192,983 Re: Forum
182,648 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0240 MB (Peak: 1.1986 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-07-21 23:16:46 UTC