ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
20 ft Ground Rod #5282 11/13/01 12:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
J
JOAN Offline OP
Member
Prints I'm looking at call for driving 20 ft ground rod. I'm not sure of the composition of the ground. Anyone have a good (fast, cheap, easy?) way to run same.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5283 11/13/01 04:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
Joan, why not try a UFER?
http://www.scott-inc.com/html/ufer.htm

Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5284 11/13/01 06:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
NJwirenut Offline
Member
How about 2 10 foot rods?

[Linked Image]

Or you could lay the 20 foot rod horizontally in a ditch before backfilling.

Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5285 11/13/01 06:20 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
G
George Corron Offline
Member
Joan,
The ground ring around the Pentagon requires ground rods 1" X 20' every 15 feet, most contractors use an air compressor and jack hammer for the task. BTW, did I tell you guys one of the reasons I've been scarce around here is the move from Dulles to the
Pentagon ? Surprise !!!!!!!

Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5286 11/13/01 06:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
George,
good grief! that would take a while...

Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5287 11/13/01 10:13 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
Joan,
I just had to install some 10" rods in an area with rock at 3'. I had a soil testing company drill 4" holes 11' deep and installed the rods with sand mix concrete as back fill. The drilling cost about $400 per rod.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5288 11/13/01 11:52 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
G
George Corron Offline
Member
Sparky,
It takes a bit, but the old building was poorly grounded when built (1941-43) and patched here and there since. This is the first major remodel and lotsa things that were taken for granted years ago will not be overlooked this time. Course, uh.... we also have to fill the hole.

Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5289 11/13/01 11:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 599
N
Nick Offline
Member
Are 20' ground rods readily available or do you have to Cadweld two 10'?

Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5290 11/14/01 12:12 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 642
N
nesparky Offline
Member
You can use sectional ground rods to get just about any length. You will need something heavy to drive them-air comressor and jack hammer- depending on the local earth at the job site. Most supply houses will be able to order them for you
Good luck


ed
Re: 20 ft Ground Rod #5291 11/14/01 09:03 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
There's one I had to drive to 140' for a company that produced equipment for MaBell in the '70s. Using 10' sectional rods and a 60# jackhammer, it took all of 2 days in fairly easy dirt.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,961
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,786 Are you busy
204,998 Re: Forum
193,113 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3