ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
"Esoteric" countries and their wiring practices?
by Texas_Ranger. 04/20/19 07:00 PM
Norwegian power?
by Texas_Ranger. 04/20/19 06:27 PM
Welded Copper Connections
by gfretwell. 04/19/19 04:46 PM
Israel
by annemarie1. 04/18/19 02:35 PM
Water heater calculationsSo when I count calculati
by watersparkfalls. 04/13/19 12:43 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Watts loss? #48352
02/09/05 08:58 PM
02/09/05 08:58 PM
C
Clydesdale  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
My textbook says:

watts loss = load * load / resistance

although i can easily enough plug in numbers, i wonder what it all means.


if watts loss = 100

does that mean

power consumption = load + watts loss?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Watts loss? #48353
02/09/05 10:33 PM
02/09/05 10:33 PM
R
Ron  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 582
White Plains, NY
I'm not sure what result your looking for. Checkout this website for some power (wattage) formula http://www.tpub.com/neets/book1/chapter3/1-7.htm

[This message has been edited by Ron (edited 02-09-2005).]


Ron
Re: Watts loss? #48354
02/09/05 11:26 PM
02/09/05 11:26 PM
C
Clydesdale  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
thanks, i'll check it out. i'm just trying to figure out what exactly watts loss is. my boss looked at me like i was crazy when i told him about it.

Re: Watts loss? #48355
02/10/05 12:29 AM
02/10/05 12:29 AM
B
Bob  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 182
Mobile, AL, USA
watts loss = amps x amps x resistance of the conductor in your example. This is the energy that heats the conductor. The amps used is the load amps.I often see ads that show cost saving benefits by increasing wire size above what is normally required by the NEC. Depending on the load and length of time the plant is in operation, it can be shown that the added wire size can return the extra costs over a short period of time.



[This message has been edited by Bob (edited 02-10-2005).]

Re: Watts loss? #48356
02/10/05 05:57 AM
02/10/05 05:57 AM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,260
SI,New Zealand
Good call Bob!. [Linked Image]
Yes, any loss within an Electrical system can be put down to I2R, provided that it is a resistive load.
And it is usually a Heating effect.
However, should the load involve things like Capacitive and Inductive Reactance, things become a tad more difficult, with respect to the total impedance offered to the Supply Voltage.

Re: Watts loss? #48357
02/11/05 12:31 AM
02/11/05 12:31 AM
C
Clydesdale  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
thanks, Bob. so the eccentric homeowner how we just ran 12 wire for everything in his home (except the range, dryer, ect) was actually on to something.

Re: Watts loss? #48358
02/11/05 04:23 PM
02/11/05 04:23 PM
D
dereckbc  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
Tulsa, OK
clydesdale, it might help you if you were to draw out a simple circuit and do the math using ohms law to see how it works. Just use a source like 120 VDC, load resistor of 144 ohms (equivalent to 100 W light bulb), and say something like 2-2 ohm resistors representing each leg of the wire and see what you come up with.

I will give you a hint to one of the numbers you should come up with 96.6

Re: Watts loss? #48359
02/11/05 04:28 PM
02/11/05 04:28 PM
D
dereckbc  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
Tulsa, OK
Bob, I have to disagree with your statement with respect to resistive loads. If you were to use a larger wire with less resistance on a resistive load, you would increase the load current, thereby cost more to operate, not save.

Re: Watts loss? #48360
02/11/05 06:01 PM
02/11/05 06:01 PM
A
aland  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 186
United Kingdom
My $ is with Bob on this one. I dont quite figure how using a smaller cable will reduce I2R loss on any given load.

Re: Watts loss? #48361
02/11/05 07:27 PM
02/11/05 07:27 PM
B
Bob  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 182
Mobile, AL, USA
Clydesdale
"thanks, Bob. so the eccentric homeowner how we just ran 12 wire for everything in his home (except the range, dryer, ect) was actually on to something."
In a residence it would take forever to get a reasonable return on the investment because the load is not on that long.

dereckbc
For a resistive load that is online for a long time I think you would be correct.
My point was
"Depending on the load and length of time the plant is in operation, it can be shown that the added wire size can return the extra costs over a short period of time."
This idea is for large loads that run all day and night.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
254,546 Are you busy
190,777 Re: Forum
180,501 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.052s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 1.0228 MB (Peak: 1.2000 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-04-23 22:07:11 UTC