ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 235 guests, and 27 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
S
As an engineer, I strongly advise against notching joists. The highest stresses in a beam are carried in the outermost fibers of the beam. When you notch a beam (joist), you are essentially reducing the depth of the entire beam by the depth of the notch. Say, converting a 2x10 into a 2x9.

The stiffness of a beam varies as the cube of the depth of the beam. So, in the case of a one inch notch in a 2x10, you're causing a 28% degradation in the stiffness of the joists. That's major damage to the quality of the floor above, and possibly a dangerous reduction in the strength of the floor.

E
It is also a violation of building code to notch the center 1/3rd of a joist or rafter.

Earl
E
Also, building code requires holes to be a minimum of 2 inches from the edge of the joist or rafter. Like the engineer said, the stresses in the wood is in the outermost fibers.

Earl
D
Notching the beams 1"?

That's a big area. Nm is what, 3/4" long, 1/4" thick.If you take out the drywall that is prob 1/2" thick, you only at best have to trim the bottom of the beam 1/4" deep to lay the NM in, then if you screw a steel nail plate on, how is this affecting the beam strentgh itself.