ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#47560 01/18/05 06:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
D
derater Offline OP
Member
What the consensus when you run into nasty wiring? Told h/o today that the existing cicuit connected to my work,shouldn't work
(it's a gnd/nuet. fubar).Twist his arm to get it right?;or something legal to shield me?

#47561 01/18/05 07:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 86
P
Member
How is the existing circuit connected to your work if you didn't do it?

Maybe more information would help.


Sam, San Francisco Bay Area
#47562 01/18/05 08:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
D
derater Offline OP
Member
I made a new ceiling light in l/r,box, circuit etc.,powered out of jb marked l/r 3-way.Check power to switch,OK:turn it on,no light.Tic tracer showed hot at fixture; in course of checking noodle back,found 1 in jb nutted to bundle of bare grounds;take it off,
nut it to 'my' white,still nothing;put both whites on the grounds;it works.At THIS point I explained the 'fubar' to the h/o;I'll have to take the boxes apart in the attic space,etc.,i.e more money, and his reply was to "leave it , it works." Some now deceased family member had wired the attic.

#47563 01/18/05 08:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 86
P
Member
Yukk. If it were me I wouldn't involve myself in the existing mess.

I might go as far as using existing wiring and boxes in order to avoid breaking walls. But if there are other cables in, say, a switch box, that don't make sense I wouldn't do that either.

If something gets goofed up in there you'll likely never find it.

Iwire will probably be here any minute to point out legal stuff.


Sam, San Francisco Bay Area
#47564 01/18/05 09:26 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
Member
Derater,

When I was in business, if I found a small "fubar" I would tell the homeowner and then I might just fix it myself and tell them "No Charge". It was good for the business. However if there was something real bad, I would tell the homeowner and make them aware of the problem, ask them if the wanted me to fix it or give them a quote to fix it. I would fix it unless they told me too. ( Or get a change order.) If they didn't want me to fix it and just wanted a bill for what I did, then on my bill I would write down what I saw wrong. For example: we added 3 receptacles for $55.00 a piece and while on the job we saw that the sub panel was in violation of the NEC. If you would like a quote from our company, please let us know and we will submit a price to repair the problem.
I figure that if the person saw my bill and paid me, then they would have read my note about the violation in their house.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,599 Are you busy
228,404 Re: Forum
213,266 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5