ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/18/21 11:07 AM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 1 guest and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#47440 01/17/05 08:31 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline OP
Member
I'm installing a 0.5 KVA transformer for a tanning bed. The house voltage is 251V 1PH and I need to bring it down in the 215-230 range. The manufacturer of the tanning bed is shipping the transformer with the bed. I haven't installed one this small before, and am curious about it's size.

Is this going to require a separate cabinet, or will it fit in the distribution panel? Will it require some type of ventilation?

Dave

#47441 01/17/05 08:40 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Dave any buck boosts I have installed have looked like this

[Linked Image from grainger.com]

This one happens to be .5 KVA so the size will be approximately the same as yours.

6" x 6" x 5" don't count on those measurements but it will be somewhat close.

I usually put these right at the panel.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#47442 01/17/05 10:43 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
C
Member
dave, why is the house voltage so hi?it should be around 240 or a couple above.i bet electronics don't last long.have they contacted the power company about this?

#47443 01/17/05 10:44 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
C
Member
is this a single phase service? not from a three phase bank.

[This message has been edited by circuit man (edited 01-17-2005).]

#47444 01/17/05 10:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Circuitman 251 volts is a little under 5% high, it is not that bad.

You could talk to the power company I doubt they would do anything.

UL requires equipment to handle + or - 10%


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#47445 01/17/05 11:22 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
To go on a little I will show some info from "Voltage Ratings for Electrical Power Systems and Equipment, American National Standard ANSI C84.1–1989"

The power company does not have to follow this but they may.

For a 120/240 3 wire service the voltage at the service should be between 91.7% (220 volts) and 105.8% (254 volts)

The voltage at the utilization equipment should be between 88% (212 volts) and 105.8% (254 volts)

You can get more info with an Internet search for ANSI C84.1–1989

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#47446 01/17/05 11:27 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline OP
Member
I don't know much about POCO stuff, but I'd say it's intentionally set at the high end so a voltage drop will keep it in range.

Dave


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 10
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,437 Are you busy
213,510 Re: Forum
200,399 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5