ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/18/21 11:07 AM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 2 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#46483 12/24/04 10:07 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
F
frankft Offline OP
Member
A friend of mine and myself were kicking a idea around and I wanted some more input.

A multi family house I looked at has a 100 amp panel but it has reached its load ampacity and needs to be upsized. The existing work looks fine. There is plenty of room to put a 200 amp panel on the wall also. My question is after I mount the 200 amp panel, which is the better path to go.

1. Install a 100 amp breaker in the 200 amp panel and just refeed the old panlel.
or
2. Remove the old panel, install multipule J-Boxes and reinstall all the branch circits back into the new panel.


Just looking for ideas.
TY


Thats how we do it up in the woods!
#46484 12/24/04 10:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
If the existing work looks good and I could easily isolate the grounded conductors from the grounding conductors I would simply leave it in place and feed it with a 100 amp breaker.

You did say

Quote
a 100 amp panel but it has reached its load ampacity


Does this mean it has tripped the main?

If yes I would still leave it in place but move one or two of the largest circuits over to the new panel. A range, dryer, AC unit, etc.

Hard to really say what I would do without having seen everything. [Linked Image]
Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#46485 12/24/04 10:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
F
frankft Offline OP
Member
Thanks IWIRE

The main has not triped, but the owner wants to add another electric range which would make 3 in all. It needs to be upsized! lol It seems like I should be able to isolate the grounding and the grounded wires easier than moving all of the circuits.

Thanks again.


Thats how we do it up in the woods!
#46486 12/28/04 04:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline
Member
It sounds like a typical service upgrade, where the existing panel would be removed and a new 200 amp 42 ckt. panel would take its place. When the job is done, you have 1 panel there and everything is made neat. Happy New Year

#46487 12/28/04 09:45 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 267
W
Member
I agree, I would make it all into one panel. It's cleaner looking and less possible future problems to deal with.

#46488 12/28/04 11:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 201
Member
Frankft, what does TY stand for? Perhaps Todd?

By the way, welcome to the forum. [Linked Image]


Charlie Eldridge, Indianapolis Utility Power Guy
#46489 12/28/04 11:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,035
Likes: 1
Member
Quote
what does TY stand for?
I'm betting on 'Thank You'

[Linked Image]
Bill


Bill
#46490 12/29/04 10:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline
Member
If TY is thank you, then YW.

#46491 12/29/04 04:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
F
frankft Offline OP
Member
The existing 100 amp panel I'd say was installed in the 1980's. Its is full now and with the new circuits I will be adding, the new 200 amp panel will be close to capacity and then soon there will end up being a sub panel added anyways. I can change out the panel, but with the circuits being extended, I'm not sure that would give the customer the best job when I'm done.


Thats how we do it up in the woods!
#46492 12/30/04 10:54 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 267
W
Member
Sounds like you may want to do a load demand calculaion on this home. With that many circuits you may want to consider a 400 amp service with two 200 amp panels. There are also 400 amp double main breaker panels so you can add a second 200 amp MLO right next to it or anywhere it needs to be. This panel also is listed for a second sub feed which allows up to 125 amps.


[This message has been edited by Wirenuttt (edited 12-30-2004).]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 10
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,439 Are you busy
213,522 Re: Forum
200,401 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5