ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Canada for the win
by renosteinke - 12/09/22 08:48 PM
Tiny Homes and the NEC
by gfretwell - 12/06/22 01:43 AM
EMC Glands on Motors
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 06:12 AM
Ground Rods: Installation and Hook-Up
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 05:54 AM
Happy Thanksgiving all!
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:55 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 61 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#45768 12/06/04 10:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Long Story Short...

Can RG-6 Datacom Cable be spliced with a couple of F-type Connectors and a Coupler without much (i.e. noticeable to the consumer) loss in dB?

I drilled right through the longest RG-6 run I have in this small office I'm wiring. I've run a pair of 4-pair CAT-5 cables in Star configuration to each of two boxes in each office room, plus an RG-6 to one of the boxes in each room in case they need it. The RG-6s probabaly won't even be used, but if they are, I don't want some datacom guy thinking I'm a dummy for splicing it...

Replace or splice or ???

Thanks guys...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#45769 12/06/04 10:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
J
Member
I see no problem at all splicing it, you can use F connectors or BNC's and a barrel, whatever you happen to have. The DB loss in a proper termination is minimal. Just tape over it to avoid and chance of a ground loop if the splice hit anything else in the ceiling.

#45770 12/07/04 12:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
Member
With the number of F connections that go bad over time, I'd say that it would be kind of you to replace it.

#45771 12/07/04 05:58 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 197
Z
Member
sparky66,- could you pull the cable back to another box and splice it there?, or is it a dropped ceiling,and you can splice it in the ceiling?
How long is the run?
I would run a new home run if it was me cause I would not have any couplings.
Then you don't have to worry about the splice going bad.


Shoot first, apologize later.....maybe
#45772 12/07/04 01:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
Member
Never heard of RG-6 datacom cable. That for those new computers with the TV built in? [Linked Image]

As with any other wiring splices must be in an accessable location. These do go bad and there is nothing worse than trying to find a splice buried in a wall or ceiling. You need to either do what you have to do to splice it where you can get at it later or rerun it.

-Hal

[This message has been edited by hbiss (edited 12-07-2004).]

#45773 12/08/04 05:56 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
I'd go with Hal.

If you can route the ends to a point where you can make an accessible splice, then fine, otherwise I'd be happier rerunning as much cable as necessary.

I've come across too many hidden and buried splices in coax, phone cable, etc. to like the idea of having an inaccessible connection.

#45774 12/11/04 01:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Quote
Never heard of RG-6 datacom cable

Pardon my mistake.

What cable does one use if the 'net access is through the cable company instead of a DSL line?

What would it be called if a data connection is being piped through an RG-6?

Am I even more of an idiot than I thought?

BTW... I replaced it, ate the cost in materials and labor due to my dumb honesty, and then I got docked over $100 because the customer felt the mark-up was unfair since she paid me a deposit and essentially bought the materials for me.

I was too desperate for the check to argue...

...then... my best maintenance account POed me when questioning a $48.50 bill for replacing a HPS 70W bulb (including price of the bulb mind you) and I spend nearly $1000 a month at this guy's store... Jeez...

I no longer have that account.

[Linked Image]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#45775 12/12/04 07:40 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 200
U
Member
Hell S66...you're having a ball aren't you! [Linked Image]

We all go through duff times like this - if that's any consolation.

Chin up! [Linked Image]


If hindsight were foresight, we'd all be millionaires!
#45776 12/13/04 09:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 17
F
Member
First of all, it's good to see you around again Virgil,

Quote
What cable does one use if the 'net access is through the cable company instead of a DSL line?

After the modem you will use cat5, cat5e etc as with most newer networks. Before the modem, cable will use the RG6 and I'm not sure of DSL.

Older networks, base 10, would use coax cable. Most of the equipment is pretty obscure now and I don't think you can even get those NIC cards in anything newer than a ISA slot configuration. The newer technology has really made those older networks obsolete by todays standards.

And I think you did the right thing to replace it.

FRANK

#45777 12/14/04 09:27 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,432
Likes: 3
Member
Virgil,
I'd agree with Frank (FWW56).
Quote
First of all, it's good to see you around again Virgil
Personally I would say you've been unlucky with this job, but lets put it into perspective, how often would a thing like this happen anyway?.
I've done exactly the same thing before and I guess that we aren't the only two that have done it before and we won't be the last either (at least as long as I'm working in the Electrical Industry)!. [Linked Image]
As John(UKSparky) said above, Chin Up mate!.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 99
Joined: August 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 6
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
300,687 Are you busy
230,365 Re: Forum
215,125 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5