ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Can I ask for your input?
by Roger_Dunn - 01/15/21 04:47 AM
Photo Editing Software?
by grich - 01/13/21 11:18 AM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by HotLine1 - 01/04/21 01:45 PM
Happy New Year Folks!!!
by Trumpy - 01/04/21 05:46 AM
What does your work place look like?
by NORCAL - 12/31/20 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
GFCI boxes #43742 10/21/04 06:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 51
B
bp-redbear Offline OP
Member
When y'all are doing a job, let's say you are installing a GFCI receptacle in a bathroom where there is an existing non-GFCI duplex receptacle (by the sink), and the box is an older metallic one about 2x3 in., do you break out the old box and install a "old work" box 4x4 and use a single-gang mud ring?

Or, do you tape around the GFCI and try to cram the GFCI in the box that is barely larger than the GFCI itself?

Can't they make the GFCI's smaller yet?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: GFCI boxes #43743 10/21/04 07:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
N
NJ Wireman Offline
Member
I usually would remove the old box and replace with a new plastic old work box and use a over sized plate if needed to make up any gaps between the box and rock. As far as removel of the old box i do not make the hole any larger then it is now. i either pry the old one off with a screwdriver. or use a cordless saw. to cut it. If the old box dont fit out of the new hole i drop it down into the wall. (i try not too though). And then i just install the new item. alittle long winded but hope it helps.

Re: GFCI boxes #43744 10/21/04 10:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 518
J
John Steinke Offline
Member
If only the box size were the only problem...
I usually find that thr older wiring method leaves me nothing to work with. If I'm lucky, I can wire-nut pigtails on.

I usually use a shallow wire-mold box to extend out about an inch; this gives the device some room.

Re: GFCI boxes #43745 10/21/04 10:52 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
ElectricAL Offline
Member
I work in homes built any time during the last 100 years. I start off with discovering the box to be too small and as I figure out how to remove it, I settle on what I will replace it with. If the removal is messy, I'll move through a couple choices for the new box, and at some point settle on it and go get it from the truck. I keep a wide variety on the truck. Need I say that the truck is overloaded?


Al Hildenbrand
Re: GFCI boxes #43746 10/21/04 11:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,965
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
bp,

If it's NM cable you're dealing with I think replacing the existing box with a 'SmartBox' is a good solution. They have more cu in capacity than a standard PVC old work box and cost less than deep one:

[Linked Image]

Bill


Bill
Re: GFCI boxes #43747 10/22/04 06:54 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 51
B
bp-redbear Offline OP
Member
Thanks all.

Re: GFCI boxes #43748 10/22/04 03:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
C
classicsat Offline
Member
Is there enough room on its side (where the screw enters) for a GFCI?

Re: GFCI boxes #43749 10/22/04 06:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,965
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
classicsat,

The screws and supports are back further than it seems from the 1st picture. Here's another pic from a different angle. The screw block starts about 3/4" back from the front. As you can see there should be no problem getting a GFCI in there, and it's an 18.5 cu in. box.

[Linked Image]


Bill

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,225
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 14
NORCAL 7
Popular Topics(Views)
273,868 Are you busy
207,604 Re: Forum
195,349 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3