ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Explored: Basics of PLC
by niamishra. 10/19/18 04:44 AM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/18/18 08:47 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
GFCI receptacles and Inspectors #43613
10/16/04 11:28 PM
10/16/04 11:28 PM
F
Fred  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
Straughn, IN 47387
I had a situation with the county deputy inspector this week. He was doing a final on a new house I had wired and informed me that all of the GFCI receptacles would have to be replaced so he could re-test them before he would sign off on the final electrical. I asked what the problem was and he told me that when he tested them with his Ideal receptacle tester they would trip okay but upon being reset they didn't register as hot. These are P&S Safelock 15A GFCI receptacles. He demonstrated for me and it was just as he said. I asked him to unplug his tester before he reset the GFCI. When he did this the power was restored to th GFCI immediately. The inspector thought these were all faulty GFCI receptacles(12 in this home)and wanted them replaced. I referred him to the manufacturer's instructions which state the GFCI receptacle should be tested using the test button on the receptacle. The instructions also refer to the device meeting the 2003 UL requirements. I wonder if the Safelock feature requires anything plugged into the receptacle at the time it trips to be unplugged before power is restored to the receptacles. The info that comes with the GFCI doesn't mention it. The GFCI would reset with the tester still plugged in, it just wasn't "hot" until he unplugged the tester and then plugged it back in. Anyone else run in to this? By the way, he passed all of them after repeating his test unplugging the tester after tripping and reset.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: GFCI receptacles and Inspectors #43614
10/16/04 11:42 PM
10/16/04 11:42 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
Regina, Sask.
I can't be of any help to you, but I certainly appreciate the "heads up" on the receptacles.

Re: GFCI receptacles and Inspectors #43615
10/16/04 11:47 PM
10/16/04 11:47 PM
J
Jacuzzi Guy Electric  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 33
Dearborn Heights Michigan Unit...
This is normal on the Receptacles. They are new and the "lock" feature is for this purpuse. The inspector has NOT been informed... I think. Check out this funny Movie. http://www.elec-toolbox.com/Pics/funny%20electricity%20joke%20guy%20plays%20on%20friend.mpg Or download direct at http://www.elec-toolbox.com/Pics/elecpics.htm

Re: GFCI receptacles and Inspectors #43616
10/17/04 03:49 AM
10/17/04 03:49 AM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Quote
The GFCI would reset with the tester still plugged in, it just wasn't "hot" until he unplugged the tester and then plugged it back in.


Maybe it was the tester that would not register as hot, maybe he has not learned to use his new toy? Try it again with a simple GFCI tester.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: GFCI receptacles and Inspectors #43617
10/17/04 09:13 AM
10/17/04 09:13 AM
F
Fred  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
Straughn, IN 47387
I did try it with a simple tester and it produced the same results. I also plugged my Fluke T5 600 in the top of the GFCI while he plugged his tester in the bottom to monitor voltage while he tested. Same thing, no voltage upon reset until he unplugged his tester.

Re: GFCI receptacles and Inspectors #43618
10/17/04 01:01 PM
10/17/04 01:01 PM
R
Ryan_J  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
West Jordan, Utah, USA
Thats interesting Fred, thanks for posting it.

When I inspect, I put my tester in, trip the device then pull out the tester and use the ground pin on my tester to reset the device, so I've never ran into that.

Good info to know though. [Linked Image]


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Re: GFCI receptacles and Inspectors #43619
10/19/04 10:29 PM
10/19/04 10:29 PM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
I have seen it where I would test a GFI with my little tester, then I would go to rest it and the "Open Ground" light would come on and it looked like a bad GFI. I would then trip it again with the GFI's tester button, and reset it once more. Then averything would act normal. I have seen these several times in the past year in many different house. It seems you have to test and restet twice before it resets properly. Just my 2 cents. By the way,, I have seen a gfi, tried to test it with my tester and nothing happened. I would then check the test button and it would work. So My gFI tester went bad. So now I carry 2 GFI testers just in case.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,903
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,492 Are you busy
188,052 Re: Forum
177,694 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9861 MB (Peak: 1.1378 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-20 11:21:55 UTC